Skip to content

Alphabet Soup

January 17, 2011

I have been on this kick for the last few months to use up as much of the canned/dry goods in my pantry as I can. So far, it has been pretty successful and a great reason to cook new things. One of the things I haven’t touched yet is the alphabet pasta (Alfabeto, if you will). I’ve been wanting to make more soups, so I finally decided to find a recipe to use the alphabets in. Last year for Christmas, my sister gave me the New England Soup Factory Cookbook, by Marjorie Druker and Clara Silverstien. It has some great soups and sides tucked among its pages. Plus, it has a lot of tasty looking photos! I used their recipe for Alphabet Soup, but tweaked it a little bit (my changes are in bold).


Alphabet Soup:

8 cups chicken or veg stock (i added 2 cups of water and another 2 cups of stock)

one small onion, chopped

5 carrots, peeled and chopped

2 stalks celery, chopped

2 large potatoes, peeled and chopped small

one 8oz (15oz) can diced tomatoes, drained

½ tsp pepper

½ tsp garlic powder

1 tsp basil

1/2 tsp red pepper flakes (optional)

salt to taste

1 Tbsp fresh parsley (I didn’t do this)

1 cup green beans cut into 2″ pieces (I used 2 cups of frozen)

1/2 cup frozen green peas (I used 1 cup)

¾ cup dry alphabet noodles (I used 1 ¼ cup, which is why I added more liquid)

Directions:

In a large pot (I ended up using two medium/large pots and just tried to divide pretty evenly), bring stock and water to boil, add onion, carrots, celery, potatoes, drained tomatoes and spices. Simmer for 20 minutes, add green beans, peas and pasta, simmer for another 10-15 minutes or until pasta is cooked through.

Serves: 8-10

I put a few drops of hot sauce and some parmesan cheese into the bowl when I served it.

This is a really great soup, and it only takes 45 minutes or so to scrounge up! I bought the fresh ingredients a few weeks ago and didn’t have time to make the soup before I went out of town, so I experimented with freezing raw vegetables. I peeled and chopped the carrots and chopped the celery and onion and put them in a freezer bag. When I made the soup, I put them into the boiling stock straight from the freezer, and it worked great! Because the other ingredients are frozen, canned or dry, this soup can be made as long as you keep the ingredients on hand.

I froze half of the soup, because it makes a lot. It can probably be halved easily if you’re only cooking for one or two and don’t want a weeks worth of leftovers, but for a family it will be fine.

Enjoy!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2011 11:31 am

    Soup looks great…i am sure to try it.

    Nice one!

  2. January 18, 2011 3:03 pm

    Thanks so much for sharing this recipe! I will definitely have to try this, it looks delicious!

    I also have a health and fitness food blog – http://stacia222.wordpress.com , I posted a great recipe yesterday for a light, low-calorie apple pumpkin spice dip and a recipe today for spinach pesto. I’d love for you to check it out and let me know what you think.

    Thanks!
    Stacy
    http://stacia222.wordpress.com

    • January 18, 2011 6:43 pm

      Thanks for checking it out and taking the time to comment!
      Its great to get comments when I feel like I am brand new to the blogosphere. :]

      Also, thanks for sharing your recipes for spinach pesto and the pumpkin spice dip! I am always looking for new pesto recipes.
      I will be visiting your blog frequently!

      -J

  3. February 10, 2011 2:58 am

    This was very good ! I added old bay seasoning.

    • February 10, 2011 12:19 pm

      mmm. i don’t usually use old bay, but i am for sure beginning to appreciate its flavor in certain dishes. i’ll have to try that! glad that you enjoyed it. :]

Leave a Reply

