Skip to content

Sourdough Carrot & Apple Quick Bread

January 22, 2011

Yesterday at work, everything was banana. Not crazy bananas, but made with banana. Banana bread, banana cake, banana pudding, banana split pie, banana’s foster and banana vegan spice bread (not kidding). After some investigation I discovered that we no longer have a baker and the chefs have taken charge of the baking in the interim. This did not explain much except that the chefs only know how to bake things containing bananas [and coco-puffs, because there were also coco-puff cake and coco-puff rice crispies], but it did explain why the usual desserts were absent.

This morning I was brainstorming sourdough recipes and decided to make a sweet quick bread. Obviously, I planned to steer clear of bananas, but I really enjoy breads with fruit and vegetable ingredients. I happened to have carrots and apples in the fridge, so I decided to figure something out with them. As usual, I browsed recipes. I looked at some carrot cakes, zucchini breads and apple cakes and I came up with the below recipe.

Sourdough Carrot & Apple Quick Bread:

5 Tbsp melted butter

2/3 cup granulated sugar

1/3 cup light brown sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup sourdough starter

1 shredded apple, skin on (I used gala)

1 cup shredded carrot

1¾  cup flour

½ tsp cinnamon

¼ tsp allspice

¼ tsp nutmeg

1 tsp baking soda

½ tsp salt

3/4cup chopped walnuts

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Mix melted butter, sugar eggs and vanilla in a bowl, add sourdough starter and carrots and apples. Mix the dry ingredients together and a little at a time, stir them into the wet mixture. Fold in walnuts.

Pour batter into a loaf pan and bake for 55-65 minutes. (if you want to make muffins, only bake for 20-25 minutes)

*I ended up with a little more than a loaf pan and made 4 muffins with the extra.

I will spare you the tragic story of my dropping the 350 degree mostly baked bread when I found out too late that the oven mitt was wet…because I salvaged it and the roommate still thought it was really tasty (and happily devoured the crumbly, ugly mess that it was). Also because due to extra batter, I had 4 pretty muffins to photograph, so you still get to feast your eyes on this yummy confection.

And it was only this morning that I heard the lyrics “glorious accidents, they happen for a reason” on the new Cold War Kids album Mine Is Yours.

Barring accidents resulting in disaster, this bread is tasty. Its sweet, but not to sweet AND it has some healthy fruits and vegetables in it!

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

