Skip to content

Chicken and Green Pea Fettucini Alfredo

January 25, 2011

Fettucini Alfredo was my favorite dinner when I was little. Mom made the tastiest Alfredo sauce and the spinach noodles were green. I thought this was about to coolest thing ever because green was my favorite color. Much like my sweet potato when the rest of the family had baked potatoes, I am pretty sure this Alfredo sauce was the cause of my plain butter, salt and pepper noodles when everyone else had tomato sauce.

I have made Mom’s Fettucini Alfredo recipe a few times on my own and it is amazing. I have also grown out of the sweet potato and plain noodle phase, and have eagerly learned the secrets to her amazing meat and tomato spaghetti sauce [yum].

One day, I will post these recipes.Today though, I am posting a different Fettucini Alfredo, an experiment of sorts. I made this one because I had evaporated milk in the pantry (remember the time I am purging the pantry of all of its cans?) and I wanted to try to cook [rather than bake] something with it.

Chicken and Green Pea Fettucini Alfredo:

1 lbs chicken breast

1 Tbsp olive oil

3 cloves garlic

pepper, basil & red pepper flakes to taste

3 Tbsp butter

1 cup milk

¾ cup nonfat evaporated milk

3 Tbsp dry white wine

½ cup grated parmesan cheese (I used the kind in the green canister)

1 ½  cups green peas

13.5 oz whole grain fettuccini (this is the amount that comes in the container in the fridge section)

Directions:

Start a large pot of water to boil for the pasta. Heat olive oil and garlic in another pan, add chicken and spices and cook through (I cut mine to bite size before it was cooked, but you could alternatively do this after it is cooked or, for presentation serve the entire breast on top of the pasta). Once the chicken is cooked, put it in a bowl and return the pan to the stove. Measure out milk, evaporated milk and white wine to the pan and bring to a slow boil while continuously stirring. Turn heat to low and whisk in the parmesan. Add the peas (I added mine still frozen). Add the chicken back in and heat through. When the pasta in finished, drain it and mix it with the sauce.

Serves 3-4

Notes:

I adapted this recipe from Tessa at Handle the Heat. I changed a few of the measurements, added some ingredients and also made it more of a two pot process, because one con that she had was the number of dirty dishes. She also used zucchini, which I think would be really good. I used peas because I had them in the freezer (this is where the pantry purge merges with the freezer purge, I also got the chicken from the freezer!). Plus I haven’t been able to find any zucchini recently that are decent looking, thanks to winter in the city. It would also be good with other vegetables [like spinach, bell pepper, mushrooms and yellow squash].

It was pretty tasty! Not quite as good as the traditionally creamy, buttery sauce that Mom makes, but that’s what I get for using the evaporated milk and no cream. I suppose it is healthier, plus it has protein and vegetables! It was also really easy. The entire process took about 20 minutes and I did not have a lot to clean up. The creamy part of the sauce is definitely a nice vehicle for vegetables and next time I will try it with spinach and mushrooms, a little less traditional, a little jazzier.

Enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2011 6:28 pm

    Sounds delicious! I love Fettucini Alfredo — definitely a comfort food.

  2. Lynn permalink
    September 4, 2011 12:57 am

    I love adding peas into my fettucini alfredo!

Leave a Reply

