Skip to content

A Chinese New Year Inspired Dinner

February 3, 2011

Happy Chinese New Year! Hello year of the rabbit!

My sister came over for dinner last night, and also to watch our favorite trashy television show/guilty pleasure, One Tree Hill. As a New Years (eve) meal, I decided to tackle the whole chicken I bought at Trader Joes a few weeks ago. It has been in the freezer, but since everyone moved back into the apartment, the freezer has been overflowing, so I have been trying to clean my part of it out.

I was not home for most of the day, so I tried to find a recipe for cooking a whole chicken in a crock-pot. Since it is the Chinese New Year, I wanted to trend towards a Chinese inspired meal.

I ended up combining a few roasted Chinese chicken recipes with the approximate cook time/prep of a plain roasted chicken in the crock-pot.

I came up with my own versions of the chicken and the fried rice.

Chinese Inspired Crock-Pot Chicken:

4-5lbs whole Chicken

1 bunch green onions

5-6 stalks celery

2 Tbsp fresh ginger

¼ cup teriyaki sauce

3 Tbps Soy Sauce

3 tsp Chinese 5 spice

Directions:

Cut the celery stalks into 4-5” slices and put enough into your crock pot to cover the bottom, stuff the rest into the chicken. Add ginger to the crock pot (it can be in chunks). Chop the green onions and stuff them into the chicken. Put the chicken breast-side-down on top of the celery in the crock pot. Mix the teriyaki, soy and 5spice in a bowl and pour/rub it over the chicken. Cook on low for 5-6 hours.

Save the liquid in the pot and the bones and make a chicken stock: click here for directions.

Improvised Stir-Fried Rice:

3 Tbsp olive oil

2 eggs, beaten

3 cups cold rice

½ cup carrots, chopped

8 oz can water chestnuts

1 cup peas (I used lady peas, because I had them)

2 cups snow peas

¼ cup soy sauce

Directions:

Cook the rice up to one day before and put in the fridge.

Heat a Tbsp of oil in a wok (or large pot). Once it is hot, pour the eggs into the wok and let sit until they start to cook through, do not stir/scramble. Flip the eggs once to fully cook and move them to a plate. Turn to high and heat the remaining 3 Tbsp oil in the wok and add rice, carrots, chestnuts, peas and soy sauce. Stir and return heat to low, then cover and let rest until the vegetables are cooked through (10-15min).

The chicken was awesome. It was juicy and flavored enough without overpowering the chicken. The rice was also pretty good. I think you can add/subtract vegetables, as you like. I just used what I had on hand and also picked up some snow peas from the store, because they are my favorite part of stir-fry. Of course, we both went straight for the Sriracha sauce anyways.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

