Skip to content

Super Bowl XLV & The Purple Potluck

February 8, 2011

Well, Super Bowl XLV is behind us, Usher’s splits and all. I hope everyone had a fabulous Superbowl Sunday!

Since most of us here in Baltimore are rather large fans of the Ravens, we are also pretty excited about the Packers’ great success.

Despite the Ravens not competing in  the 45th Super Bowl, we still celebrated the purple. Sunday evening, my sister had everyone over for a purple potluck. Along with tasty scallion pancakes and a really yummy green chicken chili, we had purple rice, purple asian slaw, purple wings and purple cookies.

Delicious.

Purple Cookies (The Raven):

Upon a request for me to bring purple cookies, I of course decided to create a cookie for the Steakbakes regiment. I call it: “The Raven” and it includes Old Bay and Utz potato chips. Sounds gross, but that would be false. They are actually a lot tastier than I even imagined (I left some for my roommates and they were gone by the time I got home). It was for sure an experiment in a Baltimore-themed creation. And they will soon be featured in the SteakBakes store.

Also, a few days before the potluck was deemed purple, I had decided to make wings. Obviously, I now had to make them purple. So here is what I did.

Purple Wings:

I used 4 lbs of chicken wings and soaked them for an hour in a mixture of water and purple food coloring. I covered the wings in water and put enough food coloring in the water to make it pretty dark. You can either buy the purple color pre-made or mix red and blue. Preheat the oven to 350 and drain the wings (important if you want them to be a little crispier). Then spread them out in a single layer on a cookie sheet and rub them with spices of your choice (i used a McCormicks’ pre-made buffalo wing spice). Bake them for about 35-45 minutes.

I put food coloring in my blue cheese dressing as well.

Purple wings!

Also, I was excited to use the serving dish that Mom gave me a few years ago. Its pretty much the greatest.

Enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. valerie permalink
    February 1, 2013 1:09 am

    what is the recipe for these cookies they look so delicious?

    • February 1, 2013 4:46 pm

      I just converted regular chocolate chip dough, added food coloring, Old Bay to taste and a bag of crushed Utz (the snack size bag)! Bake as normal!

Leave a Reply

