Skip to content

Valentine’s Pumpkin Cranberry Sauce Bread

February 15, 2011

Happy Valentine’s Day!

(awesome VDay sunrise in Charm City)

Usually, I make a festive treat for my roommates and I to celebrate this lovely day of the year. (Mmmmm chocolate). I thought about cookies, red velvet cake and other more chocolate-involved confections for a while. But, I eventually settled on cranberry sauce pumpkin bread. Partially because cranberry sauce is red and I happened to have some in the freezer from Christmas, but also because I was definitely craving pumpkin bread. I put chocolate chips in one of them (an excellent roommate suggestion).

Yum! <3<3<3

Pumpkin Cranberry Sauce Quick Bread:

3 1/2 cups flour (I mixed ½ and ½ whole wheat and all purpose)

2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp cloves

1 ½ tsp baking soda

½ tsp salt

½ cup granulated sugar

½ cup light brown sugar

¾ cup canola oil

¾ cup milk

1 can pumpkin puree

1 cup cranberry sauce

1 cup chocolate chips (use ½ cup if you only put them in one loaf)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F. Mix together flour, cinnamon, cloves, baking soda, salt, and sugar in a bowl. Add canola oil, milk and pumpkin and stir until smooth. Fold in cranberry sauce and chocolate chips (if using). Divide between two greased 9×5” loaf pans and bake for 45-55 minutes.

So we devoured it. It was excellent, AND it made two loaves (I froze the loaf sans chocolate chips…in hindsight, should have put chocolate chips in both loaves!). It was really great still warm from the oven with a little butter spread on it. I am eating a slice now and the flavors seem to be a little more intense since the loaf sat over night. I think I am tasting some orange flavor (from our homemade cranberry sauce). If your cranberry sauce does not contain oranges you might consider adding some orange zest to the batter. This is for sure going to be on my list of recipes for using leftover cranberry sauce (since apparently eating it with a spoon is frowned upon..but I LOVE CRANBERRY SAUCE)

(photo courtesy of USCranberries.com)

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

