Skip to content

Tortellini and Spinach Soup (Improvised)

February 26, 2011

My mom makes this awesome tortellini soup that I crave every time I see packages of tortellini in the grocery store (so pretty much all the time). It is a really easy soup to make and has a lot of flavor. Its also kind of like won ton soup, which is one of my favorites. Or dumplings. Pretty much any kind of doughy, dumpling-ish thing in soup is my favorite. The addition of spinach is also great because you can get a lot of it into one bowl, as in almost a whole salad’s worth of it.

So usually the recipe is pretty simple: chicken broth, yellow onion, garlic, wine, spinach, tortellini and Parmesan cheese. And even with those 7 ingredients it is really good. Last night, I decided to use the chicken stock that I made from the Chinese crock-pot chicken a few weeks ago. I knew it was going to taste a little bit different than regular chicken stock, so I decided to play with the recipe a little bit. I substituted in red onion and added Shitake mushrooms and green onions. It was great!

Tortellini and Spinach Soup (Improvised):

8 cups chicken stock (use canned or see below)

1 package of dried shitake mushrooms (3/4oz)

5-6 green onions, chopped

½ red onion, chopped

3 cloves garlic, crushed

¼ cup dry white wine

1 package tortellini (I used one of the Buitoni packages from the fridge section)

3-5 cups spinach

grated Parmesan cheese for garnish

Directions:

In a large pot, add stock and dried mushrooms and heat to boil. In a pan, sauté the red onions, green onions and garlic, on medium once they start to get a little browned add the wine and cook for about a minute and then add the entire pan to the stock. Once it is boiling, add the tortellini and cook 5-8 minutes. Add the spinach (I usually just add handfuls until I think it looks ok) and wait for it to wilt. Serve with grated Parmesan cheese.

Serves: 4-5

Chicken Stock:

After I made the Crock Pot Chinese Chicken, a few cups of liquid had cooked off the chicken, I left it in the crock-pot, threw in the bones of the chicken and filled the pot the rest of the way with water. I put it on low overnight, strained it and froze the stock. The resulting broth is flavored a bit differently than plain chicken broth because of the spices I used in cooking the Chinese chicken, but you can do the same thing with any kind of chicken you cook in the crock-pot.

Yum!

A great precursor to the last night of dog sitting and watching Shutter Island (which is an amazing movie!)

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

