Skip to content

Making Pasta Attempt #1

March 10, 2011

I have been wanting to make my own pasta for a long while, but something about it always just seemed complicated. Until I found this really easy recipe at Sarah’s Prairie Table blog. It is basically flour and water. She used white-wheat flour but suggested that other flours should work, so I tried a mix of whole wheat and AP. The entire process was pretty easy and the pasta itself was decent. Although I am sure the spaghetti gods are staring at my misshaped noodles in horror, it was a first attempt, and I think it was pretty successful. I do have to say that my second attempt will probably involve eggs and be more traditional, but if you’re in a pinch and don’t have eggs or if you don’t eat eggs, this recipe is great!

Eggless Whole-Wheat Pasta:

1 cup AP flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

¾-1 cup water

I added a few pinches of basil to the dough, too

Directions:

Sift flours into a mixing bowl and make a well in the center. Pour 1/2 cup of water in the center and stir the batter. Add water a little at a time until the dough is together, but not sticky. Turn out onto a floured surface and knead for 10 minutes. Return dough to bowl, cover and let rest for another 10 min. Then, on a well floured surface, roll dough out as thin as possible (I divided the dough into fourths because it was easier to work with. Make sure to roll it as thin as you can. Then, with a sharp knife, cut long strips of noodles. If you want to use them later, dry them. Make sure they are well floured and then arrange them into nests and set out to dry. If you’re ready to cook them, drop them in boiling water for 3-5 minutes until they are done.

Great success! And pretty easy too! Though my noodles look nothing like Sarah’s. Having experienced this process, I am for sure going to try some other recipes for homemade pasta and I’m also in the process of finding a pasta machine, because I’d love to make my own pasta all the time, and in all practicality, the hand cutting is a little time consuming. BUT, definitely give this a try! For my sauce I sauteed some broccoli and onions in a pan and then added some jarred pasta sauce.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

