Skip to content

My New Favorite Banana Bread

March 23, 2011

Bananas! Whew. The number of bananas in my freezer could probably stack to the moon and back. Twice.

Why do I have miles of bananas? Well, this past weekend, we hosted the 2nd Annual (and very successful) Nikia’s Nippy Nor’Easter ½ Marathon & Relay. The idea for the race was born over beers and tacos over two years ago during a race coordinators’ meeting for Back on My Feet. Last year, five of us organized the race and we ended up raising a total of $4 after all was said and done. But it was amazing. This year, we doubled our planning committee size, and our race participant field, and ended up grossing over $6,000 for Back on My Feet Baltimore. Huge success! It was a blast.

My largest contribution to the preparation was my ability to order two crates of bananas and one crate of oranges at a whole-sale rate through my work. What we didn’t realize was that two crates of bananas was a major surplus. We ended up with about 50 bananas that were cut in half as well as an entire crate of whole bananas. I froze most of the halved bananas and donated the box of whole ones to a local shelter. Now, with about three gallons of frozen bananas I am in no danger of a potassium deficiency anytime soon. And while I can definitely put back a few banana and peanut butter smoothies with ease, its just as fun to attempt to perfect my banana bread…

And this recipe is pretty darn close. My biggest problem with banana bread is that the loaves I bake never seem to have enough banana flavor. This bread has 4-5 bananas in a single loaf, and it is really banana-y. Perfect! Also, while it doesn’t have a sourdough flavor, I think the sourdough definitely adds to the moisture in the bread. I highly recommend this recipe and I think It will be my new go-to for banana bread.

Sourdough Banana Bread:

1/3 cup melted butter

½ cup granulated sugar

¼ cup light brown sugar

1 egg

¾ cup sourdough starter

4-5 ripe bananas (about 1 ¾ cups mashed)

1 ¾ cup AP flour

1 tsp baking soda

½ tsp baking powder

½ tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

Heat oven to 350F. Melt butter in a mixing bowl, add sugars and cream together and beat in the egg. Add starter and mashed bananas and stir until mixed. In a separate bowl, mix flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon together and then add them to the banana mixture. The batter might be a little lumpy from the bananas, but stir until it appears to be smooth. Pour batter into a greased 9×5 loaf pan and bake 50-60 minutes or until a knife comes out clean.

OH MAN its really delicious. The recipe is relatively simple, which is one of my favorite things consider when I cook. However, the recipe is not as simple as I’d usually like to present to my readers, mainly because not everyone has a sourdough starter in their fridge. I am pretty sure you could sub the 3/4 starter for 1/2 cup of buttermilk, or maybe yogurt? I am going to experiment with this and will post the results. I just felt like my starter has been ignored for a little too long and it needed some love. So, be looking for updates to come on the revamping of the Banana Bread.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

