Skip to content

Easy Homemade Granola

April 5, 2011

Well, it might even be spring time for real here in Charm City. Yesterday’s opening day at Camden Yards was fantastically sunny and warm. Hot, even. Plus, with the O’s on a winning streak right out of the gates, it looks like a good sign.

Along with my spring cleaning, I have been on this push to try and live more sustainably. I think the toughest thing when trying to actually go through with any kind of lifestyle change is that at some point you have to decide to slow down and start with little things one at a time.

Baltimore City recently passed a plastic bag law that requires most stores not to supply plastic bags unless the customer specifically asks. Some stores are a bit slow on the uptake but the idea is definitely a successful one. When I am asked if I need a plastic bag I am definitely apt to feel guilty about using one and thus I start to make a more conscious effort to bring my reusable bags.

One step at a time. So I figure that I can recycle, I can try to waste less and I can try to be conscious about budgeting and only buying things I really need. Grocery and food wise, I have decided I will learn how to make the things that I usually buy processed but that I am able to make. And despite a little extra time on my part, I can save some cash, too.

Pickles, for one.

I also want to start making most of my bread again, and yogurt, which will be an experiment later this week. I used to have this great recipe for granola that I made a lot. I got it from Runner’s World, but unfortunately, they have so many granola recipes now that I couldn’t find it when I searched. I am hoping it is in Mom’s family cookbook, because it is one of the best homemade granolas I’ve ever had. I do remember some parts of it though, so I found a recipe that was similar on Men’s Health, it is also a little bit easier, but definitely not the same.

The biggest thing about making granola is that it usually has a handful of weird ingredients that go into it that you look at and say to yourself, “when am I ever going to use wheat germ again?” Ultimately, the weird ingredients will get used in subsequent granola batches and I can assure you that the total cost of all of the ingredients to start with is far lower than purchasing pre-made granola on a regular basis. Of course, you also need to be a granola eater, which I definitely am.

Granola:

3 cups rolled oats

1 cup wheat germ

3 Tbsp flax seed

¾ cup chopped nuts (I used walnuts)

1 tsp cinnamon

¼ cup honey

1 cup water

3/4 cup dried fruit (I used golden raisins and chopped dried cherries)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F. Combine oats, wheat germ, flax, nuts and cinnamon in a bowl, stir until mixed. Add honey and water and mix thoroughly. Spread evenly in a greased 9×13 pan, I also line the pan with parchment paper or aluminum foil so that it’s easier to clean.

Bake for 60-70 minutes, stirring every 20 or so minutes so it cooks evenly. Remove from oven and add dried fruit, let cool completely and store in airtight container.

Yum! This granola is definitely less sweet that most, which I kind of enjoy. If you want it sweeter you can add a few Tbsp of brown sugar to the mix, or  top it with a few tsp of honey when you eat it. The water (which I know is not in the other recipe I use) allows nice clusters to form with the wheat germ and oats. Plus, the recipe itself is pretty versatile, as you can use whatever nuts or dried fruit you wish. Some shredded coconut, added in the last ten or so minutes of baking, would be good. And, if protein is your thing that a few Tbsp of Whey protein powder couldn’t hurt.

I will prefect a search of my other granola recipe and post that soon.

Happy April!

^Some lambs we met in Richmond this past weekend. We were there for the Ukrop’s Monument Ave 10k (and coincidentally the VCU/Butler game). Great weekend!

^Post-race party in the park! 41,000 runners and their family and friends. Awesome.

Enjoy!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2011 12:50 am

    Nice recipe – thanks for sharing. The one I’ve been using calls for oil (and is sweetened with maple syrup). I like the idea of trying an oil-free recipe. (Cute lambies, too.)

    • April 6, 2011 12:58 am

      yeh, the other one I mentioned has oil and honey but no water…the oil and honey are heated in a saucepan to meld them a little before they are mixed with the dry ingredients. the oil-free in this is definitely cool. thanks for reading!

  2. April 6, 2011 2:15 am

    I am a huge fan of granola…I think it might be bordering on an addiction. I’ll have to try your recipe and add it to my arsenal 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. My Favorite Granola! « SteakInThePan

Leave a Reply

