Skip to content

Snacking Delimas and Cheese Biscuits

April 7, 2011

Welp, its snack time. It seems like it is always snack time. Especially since I have entered the middle phase of my training for the North Face Endurance Challenge Marathon (taking place June 4). I mean, how feasible is it to not be hungry after running 15miles. We are talking an expense of almost an entire day’s worth of calories in that run. So I  snack. A lot.

Mostly, I stick with crackers/pretzels and fruit or vegetables paired with cheese, PB or hummus. Because they are all relatively easy to keep on hand and allow for a variety of snacking options. Sometimes though, a little variety is called for (because we’d hate for snacks to be boring).

When I was little, I had a complete obsession with Geraldine’s Bodacious Spicy Cheese Straws. They are crunchy and light but super spicy. There is a chance that the Publix Grocery Store on Tom Hill Sr. Blvd was kept afloat solely by my weekly Geraldine’s consumption. Man, were those great.

Yesterday, I decided to make Cheese Biscuits. These turned out less crunchy than I hoped, but their soft, almost cookie-like texture is mighty fine.

The recipe itself is relatively simple, but I made the mistake of trying to use my cookie press. Despite the cookie press’ claims to be proficient at cheese straw pressing, I finally gave up. I ended up hand shaping the biscuits and flattening them with a fork. Then, I spent twenty minutes cleaning up the mess I had made. Needless to say, the cookie press will only be used for cookies for a while. BUT it’s a great recipe, and really simple.

Cheese Biscuits:

2 cups (8oz) shredded cheddar cheese, at room temperature

4 Tbsp (1/2 stick) butter, at room temperature

1 cup flour

1-2 tsp cayenne pepper (ok, the original recipe calls for ½ tsp)

½ tsp salt

Directions:

Heat oven to 400F. In a food processor, pulse cheese and butter until well mixed. Add flour, salt and cayenne pepper (pretty much, the pepper is your call..I like spicy things and I didn’t think the 1 tsp used was enough, so next time I’ll use 2). Pulse until mixed.

Roll dough into 24-30 balls and place on non-greased baking sheet. Flatten with a fork.

Bake 10-12 minutes or until the bottoms start to get golden brown.

So the recipe calls for the cookie press. Like I said, failfailfail. It might have just been my electric cookie press and its lack of strength..I am not entirely sure, as I am not very familiar with cookie presses and am still in the experimental stages with mine. The most important part is that the ingredients are room temperature, so that they mix well, otherwise the batter is too dry and crumbly.

Super tasty though! Definitely an addictive snack!

^they definitely earned a spot at the kitchen table.

^and Jax thought he might like to try some. this is him preparing to ambush the plate from his box.

Happy snacking!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

