Skip to content

My Favorite Granola

April 23, 2011

Its crunch time. And I am going to take full advantage of that cliché in reference to both the fact that the Commencement Show is set to go up in less than 20 days and also because I managed to find some time yesterday to make another batch of granola. Fortunately for me, and my granola needs, this particular batch involves little hands on time. Thus, I was able to get in a decent amount of drawing time in the midst of the granola’s creation. Perfect!

So while I’m gearing up for the last hoorah of my time at MICA, the stress level is through the roof. This means that coupled with permanently ink stained hands from countless hours of drawing and printing, I will also spend a lot of time in the kitchen (don’t worry, the hands are ink free after a few minutes of GoJo magic). I am a stress baker by heart, so a lot of my free time over the next two weeks will be spent cooking and baking tasty treats. These usually get pawned off on the roommates and friends, who accept them with great excitement and happiness. Thus, I suppose the stress outlet is not entirely a bad thing, because I always like to make people happy.

I digress.

Back to the granola. This recipe is the one I referenced in my first granola post as my go-to favorite. I got it out of Runner’s World Magazine when I was in high school, and it was the only granola I ever made until recently. Thanks to Mom’s epic family recipe book project, she had a copy of the recipe in her collection.

Because I think it is pretty cool (if maybe a little embarrassing in a naked baby picture kind of way) here is the page from her book:

When I made it yesterday, I didn’t have any of the wheat bran cereal (I usually use Fiber One) so I substituted for that by adding ¼ cup extra of both the oats and the wheat germ. I think it worked well, and it is also handy in the event you don’t have the cereal and don’t want to buy it just for granola. Plus, I added 2 Tbsp flax seeds (I thought they were in the original recipe).

I mentioned before that this is by far my favorite homemade granola. It still is. I have experimented before with different nuts and also spicy pumpkin seeds and different kinds of dried fruit such as cherries, craisins and coconut. To me, the essential success of this granola comes from the honey/oil and the ratio of oats to wheat germ, and I think from there you can make it anything you want.

I’m going to try to go for a tropical theme with macadamia nut, dried pineapple and coconut next time, and I will be sure to post the results.

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

