Skip to content

Peanut Butter Cake

April 26, 2011

Have I ever mentioned that I love peanut butter? Mmmm. Really though, it is both salty and sweet, which makes it perfect as a healthy alternative for those “I need lunch dessert now” moments. It’s a relatively decent fat source and it is packed with protein. Plus, it can function as a dip, spread or main ingredient for things like: apples, pretzels, yogurt, oatmeal, thin mints, graham crackers, PBcookies, soup, sandwiches, peanut sauce and the list goes on…

So on Saturday, after my long run and in the midst of a gross thunderstorm hanging in the Baltimore area, I suddenly remembered that I was supposed to attend an alumni induction ceremony for BOMF. Said ceremony happened to be a dessert potluck, since we runners rarely miss an excuse to have a potluck of any kind. Of course, the rainy weather was doing little for my mood as far as baking anything was concerned. I considered cookies, brownies, cobblers..all of the usual dessert family. Nothing was striking me until I remembered that I have a large quantity of peanut butter from the same race in which I acquired the bananas a few weeks ago, so there it was, my dessert would include the PB. And then, I found this recipe for Peanut Butter Coffee Cake. For some reason, coffee cake and rainy weather seemed like a good match.

Peanut Butter Coffee Cake:

For the Topping:

½ cup brown sugar

½ cup flour

¼ cup peanut butter (creamy or crunchy)

2 Tbsp butter, melted

¾ cup chocolate chips

For the Cake:

2 Tbsp butter, melted

½ cup peanut butter

½ cup brown sugar

1 egg

1/4 cup flour

¼ tsp salt

½ tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

½ cup milk

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375F. Grease a 9×9 pan and set aside.

Make topping: melt butter and combine the rest of the ingredients, it should be a course mixture, nice and crumbly.

Make the cake: melt the butter in a mixing bowl and cream in the brown sugar and peanut butter until the mixture is smooth and slightly fluffy, whisk in egg. Mix flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a separate bowl and add flour and milk to the peanut butter mixture alternately.

Pour the cake batter into the pan and top evenly with crumb mixture.

Bake for 30-35 minutes or until knife comes out clean.

Yummm. Definitely needs a glass of milk served up with it, but that is the nature of the PB. I ended up halving the original recipe for the cake batter, because I only wanted to make an 9×9 pan of it. However, I decided to go with an extra thick topping, so I kept those measurements the same. I used crunchy peanut butter and it worked great! I also added cinnamon, because coffee cake always needs cinnamon. I have to say though, I think I will reserve the coffee part of the title from now on and just call it PB Cake. For one, I feel like coffee cake is a light, airy cinnamon-y cake, whereas this is more robustly flavored. And despite PB’s qualities to hold its own next to many ingredients, I am not sure I would have enjoyed the combination of coffee and this particular cake.

Everyone brought some pretty tasty desserts and the ceremony itself was awesome. I am always really proud of the guys when the guy who gets on the team “just for the hugs” develops into a serious runner and continues to be part of our team even when he gets a job and moves into his own house and really truly into a great friend, family even. These guys are incredible, and being a part of Back on my Feet has brought  a lot of great people and realizations into my life.

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

