Skip to content

Stuffed Portobello and Roasted Asparagus

May 25, 2011

Wow where did May go? Busy, busy, busy. Let me begin by clarifying that I have not been suffering of busy-ness but rather caught up in a rush of great and exciting things that come with the finishing of College. The first two weeks of the month were the stressful pre-Commencement Show crunch time of finals and art making that I do not miss at all. One of these weekends, my sister and I escaped to upstate NY for the Cayuga Lakes Wine and Herb Fest with some wonderful people, and it was amazing. Of course, graduation the next weekend was pretty exciting too. Not even the over-long 3.5 hour ceremony and the receiving of the diploma, but the entire Baltimore touristy weekend with the family was excellent.

Finally, things slowed down I have found time to breathe.  So this past Sunday I went to the Farmer’s Market, after a few weeks sabbatical from its wonders. So of course, I bought way too much, and am forcing my sister over for dinner tomorrow to help me dispose of some of it.

Tonight, however, I decided to make Stuffed Portobellos. I thought of the recipe when I was riding my bike to work this morning and was considering how I was going to try to making something with the mushrooms, the sweet potatos, the spinach and the asparagus which are abundant in the fridge. My idea seemed like a good one, so I went with it.

And here:

Sweet Potato and Spinach Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms:

For the Mushrooms:

(this can be done right before or a few hours before)

2 Portobello Mushrooms

1 Tbsp olive oil

2-3 Tbsp Worcestershire Sauce

2-3 Tbsp Balsamic Vinegar

Tabasco

Pepper

For the Filling:

1 Tbsp olive oil

2 small or one large sweet potato

2-3 handfuls of spinach

¼ yellow onion

2-3 cloves garlic

¼ cup wine (optional)

¼ tsp nutmeg

¼ tsp cinnamon

salt&pepper

cheese slices (I used pepperjack; I think Bleu would be amazingggg)

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 400F. Poke holes in potato(s) and wrap them in a dishcloth. Microwave on “potato” setting or for 5-6 minutes until they are soft and steaming. Alternately, you can bake or boil them, but that is a bit more time consuming.

While potatoes are happening, place washed Portobellos in a shallow baking dish or on a cooking sheet and generously splash them with Balsamic Vinegar, Worcestershire, Tabasco sauces and pepper. Roast for 5-10 minutes with the round side up.

Meanwhile, heat oil in a saucepan and add garlic and onion. Once they start to brown, begin to sauté spinach and also scoop the sweet potato out of the skin and mash it in the pan with the spinach. Sprinkle with nutmeg and cinnamon, a few pinches of salt and pepper and hot sauce if you want it. Add ¼ cup of wine (you could use water) and stir for a few seconds. Remove from heat.

Remove the mushrooms from the oven, flip them over and divide the spinach/potato mixture on top of them. Cover with slices of cheese. Return to oven for 5-8 minutes or until the cheese is melty. Broil for a few seconds more if you want to make the cheese a little crispier.

Serve with: rice or quinoa, on a piece of Texas toast, with a nice salad OR with

Roasted Asparagus:

1 Bunch asparagus

a few drips olive oil

Directions:

Cover the asparagus with olive oil and place them in the same pan as the Portobellos. When you are putting the sauces on the Portobellos, simply include the asparagus. Keep them on the tray for the whole 15-18 min total roasting time for the mushrooms.

Super yummy. The nutmeg and cinnamon are great, as they don’t lend to a sweetness but instead, serve to enhance the savory. I liked the Pepperjack cheese for its spice, but I am pretty sure Ill use Bleu next time as I think the flavor would go perfectly. I was half way through dinner when I realized the only part of the meal not from the market were the onions and the cheese, both of which I could buy there, but they don’t usually have big onions and the cheese is often more expensive. Still though, its nice to know that this entire meal can be locally sourced during this season. Below are some pictures from my recent adventures.

Enjoy!

this is why they say: Ithaca is Gorges. :]

during the tour, we got glasses and herbs! At each winery there was a food pairing, and they handed out the herb they used and a recipe card, best idea ever.

my favorite painting: “IT’S ALL SINGLES AND JELLYFISH” 60×72″ ACRYLIC ON CANVAS, 2010

the Baltimore Inner Harbor at night is always amazing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

