Skip to content

Summer Asparagus and Pesto Pasta

June 3, 2011

Ok, so I may have overlooked the asparagus in last week’s post farmer’s market purge of the fridge. Then yesterday, there they were! Napping in the drawer and not bothering to gain my attention while I dug through the bell peppers to get to the red onion. Then, once I spotted them, they had to become one of the main parts of my dinner. *brainstorm begins* As I am still working my way through the freezer as well, I happened upon have a package of Buitoni. So there it is, the beginnings of my fresh summery pasta, that may or may not be great both hot and cold!

I would also like add that it was a lovely dinner to have before and excellent evening listening to Jazz by the Monument. First Thursdays in BMore are awesome. Plus great friends and great weather and great wine. I’m trying to figure out how I can box up certain moments and keep them forever..I’ll let you know when I do.

Asparagus and Pesto Pasta:

2 Tbsp olive oil

1 bunch asparagus, chopped into 1 inch pieces

¼ purple onion, diced

1 large tomato, diced

pepper

garlic salt

crushed red peppers

a splash of dry white wine

3Tbsp Pesto

Pasta: I used Buitoni’s 9oz linguine from the fridge section

Directions:

Heat olive oil in a pan over medium high heat and add onions and asparagus. Sprinkle with garlic powder, pepper, and (if you want) crushed red pepper. Let cook until beginning to brown 5-8 minutes. Turn heat to low and splash with wine. Stir, and add tomatoes. Keep on low and let simmer. Make your pasta now. Once pasta is almost done, add the pesto to the asparagus and tomatoes. Toss together or spoon sauce over pasta.

I love pesto. Therefor, almost anything I make that involves pesto is one of my favorite things. I originally was not planning on using pesto, but just before I served the sauce I was hunting through the fridge for the Parmesan cheese and I spotted a mostly empty jar of pesto. AND seeing as the big move is upon me, I am trying to clean out items from the fridge, perfect! I also like making sauces entirely from scratch. Especially when it broaches the same ease of chopping some veggies and heating them up with jarred sauce. I will definitely be making this next time I have some asparagus floating around.

Enjoy!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2011 10:32 pm

    That looks so yummy! Such a great idea for a easy summer meal! Thanks for sharing! I’m new to blogging and love that there is a foodie community! If you have time, please check out my blog: http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/. And of course! Any advice would be great 🙂

  2. July 25, 2011 7:23 am

    Ohhhh that pasta looks so good! I seriously wanna have a plate now

  3. July 25, 2011 1:06 pm

    This looks so delicious and easy! I might just have to make it dinner.

  4. August 1, 2011 1:53 am

    I love asparagus. And pasta. So- therefore this sounds perfect!

Leave a Reply

