Skip to content

Zesty Overnight Pickles

July 1, 2011

This morning Mom and I were discussing our food plan for Fourth of July weekend. Mom’s garden has been extremely abundant this year and consequently there are bushels of tomatoes and cucumbers. We made an excellent tomato and balsamic salad the other night and also a simple cucumber salad with red wine vinegar, sugar, salt and pepper. This morning, our eyes began to glaze over as we stared at the 30 cucumbers on the counter and still more on the plants. We decided to make pickles. I was locked out of the house for about a half hour this afternoon and amused myself by wading through the garden vines and picking ripe fruits and vegetables. Now, with even more cucumbers, pickles were a must for the afternoon.

So we got out Mom’s Complete Book of Home Preserving and found a quick recipe that is ready in only 24 hours. My kind of pickles. So if you want pickles tomorrow, this is your place.

 

Quick Zingy Icebox Pickles:

6 cups sliced cucumbers

1 onion, diced

3 cups white vinegar

2/3 cup sugar

¼ cup pickling spices

2 Tbsp pickling salt

1 Tbsp prepared horseradish

1 Tbsp celery seed

1 tsp ground turmeric

2 tsp ground ginger

Directions:

Slice cucumbers into desired pickle shapes, dice onion and place them in a large bowl or container (I used a large glass jar and decided to just keep them all in that versus jarring them later). In a medium pot, combine vinegar and spices and bring to boil. Cover and boil 5 min. Pour the liquid over the cucumbers and onions. Bring to room temperature and transfer to desired containers. Refrigerate at least 24 hours. Use within 3 months.

Excellent! And I am not going to lie, as usual, I tried these well before their done time. Even 5 hours after I jarred them, and they were still warm, they were addicting. Of course, I still stand by my idea that one could probably live off of pickles. I am also pretty stoked that I just walked out and grabbed cucumbers off the vine and had pickles in a few hours.

I cannot wait until we get into these this weekend!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

