Skip to content

Summer Time Caprese Pasta Salad

July 7, 2011

Whew, it has been crazy. Finally I feel like I might be done moving. I pretty much got into town and went back out of town. Now with two days or reorganization, I am feeling a little more in one piece. I hope everyone had a wonderful Fourth of July! Mine was excellent. I spent some time on Daufuskie Island with my family and one of my best friends. We had many adventures hunting for alligators, hanging out on the beach and visiting the historical sights on the Island.

We also visited the new farm, which is run like a co-op. You can choose to sponsor various animals from cows and goats to chickens, turkeys and bees. We stopped by to see if they had any eggs for sale, and ended up with a dozen blue eggs (on a Fourth of July special) and we explored a little bit.

Now we are back in GA and it is raining tomatoes in Mom’s garden and we are wading through them. In lieu of one of my personal favorites, tomato slices doused in balsamic vinegar and sprinkled with salt and pepper, we decided to try a new recipe.

Every Wednesday, the Macon Telegraph features recipes from local chefs and yesterday’s paper happened to include a Caprese Pasta Salad that called for a pint of plum tomatoes. It also included a recipe for Broccoli and Ramen Salad, which will undoubtedly appear as a post in the near future.

Anyways, we decided to use up tomatoes and make the Caprese Salad for dinner last night. Most of my day was spent around the house cleaning out closets and gathering even more bags of Goodwill donations in an attempt to once again halve my possessions. This was the perfect time for me to make pasta salad int he afternoon so that it could chill until dinner time. The whole process probably took 25 minutes because I cut all of the vegetables while I waited on the pasta to cook.

I found this awesome map of Italy dish towel in the kitchen towel drawer, too!

Caprese Pasta Salad:

12oz box of bowtie noodles

1 cup of pesto

1 pint of cherry or plum tomatoes, cut in half

1 bunch green onions, chopped small

8oz ball of soft mozzarella cheese, cut into small cubes

1-2 garlic cloves, crushed (we used a Tbsp of paste)

1 Tbsp crushed red pepper

1 tsp fresh basil, chopped

salt and pepper

1/2 cup pine nuts

optional: 6oz chopped pepperoni

Directions:

Start the pasta cooking and get out a large bowl. Slice tomatoes, green onions and mozzarella (and pepperoni if you are using) and set aside. When pasta is done, drain and run under cold water until it is cool to the touch. Transfer pasta to the large bowl and mix well with pesto. Add everything else except pine nuts and stir until combined. Refrigerate and serve cold. Garnish with pine nuts.

Delicious! An excellent and refreshing salad. Plus I like the fact that the pasta to vegetable ratio is about 1/2 and 1/2, so a large serving is vitamin packed and nutritious as well as great carbo-energy.

I will add here that I recently decided to become mostly vegetarian. The only meat I am eating is fish (shellfish included) and eggs. And because there are so many variations on vegetarianism, see: lacto-vegetarian, ovo-vegetarian, flexo-vegetarian, pescatarian, vegan…are your eyes rolling yet? I am just going to say I am vegetarian. Its easy. I like to make things easy. Great. Anyways, I mention this now because I did not choose to add the pepperoni, even though the recipe actually called for it to be mixed in. Mom and Dad added it as a topping and thought it was tasty. We all agreed that this recipe was a superb choice for using Mom’s tomatoes. So if you have an onslaught of summer tomatoes, or if you just love tomatoes and are looking for an extremely tasty pasta salad, this is it!

I will now try and convince my teammates in the 20/24 Silver Relay that this is the pasta salad we should make for our race day fuel next Saturday.

Enjoy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 25, 2011 4:30 pm

    So much tastier than the classic versions. Just looks incredibly fresh.

Leave a Reply

