Skip to content

Cheddar Cheese & Pear Pie

July 9, 2011

Welp, I’m back in Baltimore for a brief stint and suddenly appreciating the weather I once complained about. It is so much nicer here than in GA. Plus, I can’t argue with a nice long,  Saturday Morning Run with BOMF.

The night before I left for my return trip to Baltimore, Mom and I decided to try another pear recipe. We have made the Pear Salad a few times already. We found a few recipes for Cheddar Cheese and Pear Pie that were all relatively the same. We Frankensteined them together, adding a spice here and there and adjusted the cooking time and came up with this version. It is a semi-sweet pie that could function as either a side or a dessert. Of course, if your talking to me, I could eat any kind of pie at any time of day, so this one is an excellent excuse for pie for breakfast!

Cheddar Cheese & Pear Pie:

Filling:

6 cups of pears, chopped

½ cup brown sugar

2 Tbsp cornstarch

¾ tsp nutmeg

1 pie shell (we used a 9” Pillsbury Pie Crust)

Topping:

½ cup flour

½ cup brown sugar

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

¼ cup cold butter

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425F. Chop pears and toss them in a large bowl with sugar, nutmeg and starch. Place pie shell in a 9” pie pan and pour topping into it. Rinse the bowl and use it to make the crumble topping (less dishes!). Combine sugar, flour and cheese and then use two knives or a pastry cutter to cut in the butter. Crumble this evenly over the pears. Bake for 40-50 minutes or until the crust is golden brown.

*If your pears are cooing pears and therefore a little bit hard (ours were), toss them in some oil and stick them in the preheating oven for 10-15 minutes before you make the filling. This will soften them up a bit before baking so that they are done when the crust is.

Hello wonderful tasty pie. I will say that I still have not mastered the art of the pie and my filling is constantly too drippy. Maybe this has something to do with the fact that I find it impossible to let the pie cool, but I’m not sure we can blame that. I also am not excited about the way that the Pillsbury crust baked. I think I’m going to have to experiment with other crust recipes, as I like a thicker, flakier crust. BUT aesthetics aside, it was delicious! I think next time we will tweak the filling to add cheese into the pears, just to help the filling hold its own against the cheese crumble top.

We also continue to have bumper crops of cucumbers, so we made more pickles!

Enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2011 4:29 pm

    That looks amazing!

  2. August 1, 2011 8:45 am

    What a flavour combination you got in there! That must taste delicious!

Leave a Reply

