Skip to content

Hot Hot Habenero Sauce & My Cactus

September 1, 2011

Ok finally. Hot sauce.

I love hot sauce.

When I made this one the first time late last year, I was an idiot and failed to record the recipe. Well, we ran out recently and there was a cry for more. So I set out to recreate its spicy wonder. I think I came about as close as possible, and at the rate this family eats it, we will need more in a week! Even Dad, who is typically not in support of the hot foods, insists that it be on the table every night.

Hans Hot Sauce:

30 Habanero peppers

2 Tbsp olive oil

3 cloves garlic, chopped

1 onion

15oz tomato sauce

5 Tbsp rice vinegar

4 Tbsp sugar

4 Tbsp Oyster Sauce

¼ tsp salt

Directions:

Chop stems from peppers and throw them into a food processor with onion, process until finely chopped. Heat Olive oil in a medium pot and add garlic. When garlic becomes fragrant add peppers, tomato sauce, sugar, vinegar and oyster sauce and salt. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer 20 minutes.

Recipe makes 4 small jars (1/2pint). I froze the other 3 of them.

Hothothot! It has a slightly sweet tinge to it, which is an excellent balance to the insane Habenero flame. It has a taste to it if you eat it plain but it does not overpower other flavors, it just makes things spicy. Basically, I eat this hot sauce on everything. Fantastic!! Plus, It was relatively easy to make. Yay! If you enjoy hot sauce, I would definitely recommend making this one!

Disclaimer: do not eat it on salad. Just trust me.

^I just wanted to show off the only plant I have ever kept alive. This guy has been with me for two years. More than the handful of other unsuspecting flora I have brought under my care can say. Yep, he is thriving. Probably because he is a cactus..

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

