Skip to content

Broccoli and Blue Cheese Salad

September 4, 2011

The refrigerator is really full. I am not even sure why, except maybe we have adopted way too many condiments. This morning, I decided to try and help the cause. I also was craving fresh veggies. And fortunately, we have a drawer full. In lieu of making a garden salad, I decided to tackle the broccoli.

I recently saw a recipe for Broccoli Salad in Southern Living and I wanted to try it. I sort of tweaked it a bit, as theirs called for dried cherries and pine nuts, and I also added a bit more apple.

Broccoli and Blue Cheese Salad:

6 cups broccoli, chopped (about 1.5lbs)

2 Gala apples, chopped

¾ cup raisins

½ cup slivered almonds

4oz package of crumbled blue cheese

½ cup mayo

½ cup sour cream

2 Tbsp sugar

¼ cup fresh lemon juice

¼ tsp salt

½ tsp pepper

1 tsp crushed red pepper

Directions:

Mix broccoli, raisins, apples and almonds together in a large bowl. In a small bowl, mix together blue cheese and the rest of the ingredients. Pour blue cheese mixture over the broccoli and stir well. Refrigerate at least two hours before serving.

Excellent fresh salad! It has a lot of great flavors going on in it. Broccoli salad is not something that I ever make, but whenever I have it, I really like it. This one was incredibly easy and I will definitely be making it in the future.

I sort of defeated the idea of a refrigerator clean-out by making a large salad to store on the shelves. But at least I took care of some of the fresh veggies in danger of going bad while the other left-overs were being taken care of!

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

