Skip to content

Sourdough English Muffins

September 25, 2011

Saturday was an eventful day in our house. Mom and I are still on a tear to organize/clean/donate etc. We are also trying to o some fun kitchen experiments. Mom is making batches and batches of freezer pickles with the last of her cucumbers. Since she was tied up with the cukes, I decided to take the weekly use of sourdough into my own hands and try to make some English Muffins.

When I was little, I hated English muffins. I don’t know what I was thinking (except that I was a everything bagel kind of child…). Now, they are a staple in my kitchen. They are also a staple in Mom and Dad’s. Their versatility is excellent. Mom likes hers with jelly, I like mine with PB&Banana, Dad likes his with eggs, EDawg likes hers with Alouette Garlic Cream Cheese or, as we call it: Stinky Cheese (my favorite topping for the everything bagel). So I mixed up the starter in the morning and finished them right before dinner. Alternately, you can mix them up at night and make them fresh for breakfast!

Sourdough English Muffins

2 cups flour

1 cup milk

½ cup starter

Step 1: Combine flour, milk and starter. Cover with a damp cloth and set aside for 7-8 hours.

¾ tsp salt

2 Tbsp sugar

1 tsp baking soda

1-2 cupS flour (if needed)

Step 2: Add sugar, salt and flour if needed (add this ¼ cup at a time). The dough should be soft but not sticking to the bowl. Turn out on a floured surface for 4-5 minutes. Roll out to ¼” thick. If it springs back when you roll it, let it rest for a few minutes. Using a biscuit cutter or mug, cut 3-4” circles out of the dough. You can reuse the scraps, but once again might want to let it rest before rolling. Makes about 12-14. Place them on a cookie sheet sprinkled with semolina and let rest for 45 minutes.

Step 3: Heat a greased griddle on medium high. Cook the muffins on each side for 6-8 minutes. They should puff during the cooking.  Split with a fork, toast and serve!

^Mom’s breakfast.

While these look a bit time consuming, they really aren’t! They are pretty simple in both ingredients and making. I will have to say that the starter I used was a bit wet, so I ended up adding a lot more flour to get the dough right. In the recipe I referenced, they said they didn’t need to add any of the extra flour. So I think it all depends on the consistency of the starter you begin with. I also completely forgot baking soda. Oooops. So maybe they could have been fluffier, but they are pretty darn great.

Everyone had one for breakfast today and the consensus was a success! I think, like most breads, experience will make these better and better each time. For storage, they can be kept in a ziplock bag in the freezer and thawed when needed.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

