Skip to content

Dinner in The First Snow: Creamy Veggie Pasta

October 27, 2011

Well its officially cold. Moving from Georgia to Colorado is definitely a lifestyle change. And I am loving it. After road tripping across eight states in three days, Steamboat Colorado finally appeared over the horizon in all its glorious Fall, mountainous beauty. I spent the weekend getting settled and showing Denielle (who accompanied me for the drive) around Steamboat. We hiked some and went out to eat a lot. Needless to say, I have a few favorite places to go already.

After wearing t-shirts all weekend and enjoying the beautiful sunny and warm fall weather, it was a surprise to wake up to snow this morning. Also, the cold. I craved a warm cooked dinner all day. I decided to make some pasta using the Pappardelles Extreme Hot Habanero Radiatore that I bought when I was in Pine Ridge GA for my marathon. Due to the “Extreme Hot” part of the label (and we know I love my spices) I decided to go with a relatively mild cream sauce. I came up with this:

Creamy Bell Pepper Pasta:

2 medium bell peppers, chopped

1 medium sweet onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic (or 1Tbsp minced garlic from jar)

salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper to taste

1 tsp basil

5oz can of evaporated milk

1 cup milk

1/3 cup Parmesan cheese

8oz pasta (veggie mix or a spicy flavor works best)

Directions:

Start water to boil for pasta. In a medium skillet, heat oil and garlic. Add onion, bell pepper and spices and saute until soft (I like mine starting to get a little crispy, it adds a nice flavor) then remove from heat. Once pasta water is boiling and pasta is in the pot: get a small pot and bring milk and evaporated milk to a slow boil over medium heat. STIR frequently. Once the milk boils, remove from heat and stir in Parmesan. Drain pasta, and return to pot, add peppers and onions and the cream sauce. Stir and serve.

Serves 3-4

Holy HOT Pappardelles. I am not sure that even I, a lover of extreme spice, could have survived this particular pasta flavor without a creamy sauce. But for anyone interested, check out their website! Pappardelles. They have some awesome flavors. I also bought the Sweet Potato Pappardelle and will post my thoughts on it once I try it!

I will note here that this recipe is not a spicy one (but you could always add more crushed pepper). It is spicy due to the Extreme Hot Habanero Pasta I used. This dish can be made with any pasta, but I do recommend a slightly flavored one (you can find plenty of the veggie trio kind in the grocery). I also think this is more of a soup as the cream sauce didn’t turn out super thick, I think this is because I didn’t leave it on the heat once it boiled. I like this aspect and will probably make it the same way next time! You could also add other veggies to it instead of peppers..mushrooms or asparagus maybe?

Seriously great dinner for the first snow!

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

