Skip to content

Yogurt with Pumpkin Granola

November 3, 2011

Welcome to November.

Today’s post is actually from October, I just never got around to posting it with the big move. Weee!

Anyways, in my never ending attempts to produce tasty things that are both thrifty and pretty good for you in terms of both nutrition and minimal processing, this post captures two homemade experiments.

The first is homemade yogurt! Yep. After a disastrous attempt at “crock pot yogurt,” which looks successful for many people and was a complete fail for me, I caved and purchased a Total Chef Yogurt Maker for $30. AND I highly recommend it. Its simple (there is one button) and easy. One of my favorite things about it is that it comes with 7 glass containers with lids that you make the yogurt in. This is an excellent alternative to disposing of packaging and is also handy for taking yogurt in your lunch bag. AND if you don’t lie plain yogurt you can add jam, fruit, honey, chocolate…anything.

Ingredients needed: 4cups up milk & 1 Tbsp of plain yogurt (I usually buy a small cup of Greek and eat the remainder after I use it). Hands on time: about 45min (half of this time is spent waiting for heated milk to come down to room temp).

Total time: 9hours.

Total cost of 7 containers of yogurt: $2.50

See? Excellent. If you’ve been considering, this is totally worth it. I’ve made a few batches and haven’t found any inconsistencies so far!

Of course, once I have yogurt, I need something to put on/in it. So I made some granola. I have a few granola recipes I like, but since it is Fall and the pumpkin everything was abound, I was really craving Pumpkin Granola. So I checked out some recipes and came up with this one. A total experiment…whats new? :]

Pumpkin Granola:

2 1/2 cups old fashioned oats

2 cups quick oats

1/2 cup ground flax

1 cup pumpkin seeds (called pepitas..usually find them in the produce or ethnic section)

3/4 cup chopped walnuts

1 can pumpkin

3 Tbsp olive oil

1 cup maple syrup

1 cup raisins/craisins (or just one of them if you prefer)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 300F. In a large bowl, combine all of the dry ingredients except raisins. In a saucepan, heat the olive oil, maple syrup and pumpkin until they start to bubble. Pour them into the large bowl and mix thoroughly. Spread on a greased cookie sheet and bake for 50min, stirring every 15 or so. Turn off oven, stir in raisins and leave the granola in the oven (as it cools) for 20 or so minutes..basically you are waiting for it to get crunchy.

Yum! At first, I wasn’t sure about it as it was more like a cookie-dough than a granola. But I just kept stirring/breaking it up and it turned out crunchy and great! It makes for a quick lunch to bring on-the-go, which has been prefect the last few weeks of job searching and firs days at work. :]

In other news, tonight’s dinner experiment is going to be…interesting...stay tuned!

enjoy!

Leave a Reply

