Skip to content

Asian Style Sweet&Spicy Eggplant

December 4, 2011

Hello December!

When did we get here? Because I have no idea. I do know that I am excited because my favorite time of year is well into place. In case I have yet to discuss my favorite holidays it goes: Thanksgiving, Halloween, Christmas, New Years. AHHHH! With the first two down and Christmas and the New Year sneaking up fast I have been thinking a lot about things.Mainly I have been thinking how fortunate I have been to get to enjoy all of these holidays in my new home in Steamboat, CO.

I have slowly been getting used to life here, where we have been steadily below 20degrees and the sun sets at 4PM. But I am having a blast meeting people, skiing, working and soon I will be exploring some of the other winter activities here like snowshoeing and back country exploring and sitting in the hotsprings. So here I am. Cold and happy.

Its been a busy few weeks with new-hire training for my job with the Kids Vacation Center on the mountain on top of my other jobs, so I have been eating on the fly. Yesterday I managed to get off work about an hour early and decided to cook a nice dinner and enjoy the evening watching movies and hanging out with the kitties.

Fortunately, my grocery run on Wednesday was a little mis-planned since I have barely used anything I bought. SO I had an entire fridge to choose from. I decided to make an asian-style eggplant that Mom and I made before I left home….its soo great. Everytime Mom makes it, she says she just kind of makes it up, so it is always different. Cool. So I tried my own version of it and it was pretty tasty! I also changed it up a bit and served it over red quinoa.

Asian Style Eggplant:

2 Tbsp olive oil

2 eggplants, chopped (you can leave the skin on)

1/2 cup vegetable broth

Sesame oil (I just shook some in…maybe 4-5 Tbsp?)

Stir Fry Sauce (Mom and I used Hoisin)

Soy Sauce

a few hot Red Peppers (dried or fresh…I used dried)

Directions:

Heat oil over medium heat in a large pan and add eggplant. Add broth, sauces and peppers. Really just wing it until you feel like you have enough. I like a lot…some people like less. Cook until eggplant is soft and the sauce has thickened (mom uses some cornstarch but the stir fry sauce I used was thicker to begin with).

Cook rice/quinoa by the box.

Voila! Easy.

^also,  DO NOT eat the eggplant with that many peppers..they are just hanging out here to add some color and to highlight the great peppers from Mom’s summer garden (which arrived in a care package last week).  These are the peppers I used though..I used 3 in the entire recipe.

Excellent. One of my favorite things about cooking is experimenting and you can really experiment here. Pretty much the flavor is up to you and eggplant is great with almost anything! So there you have it. Goodluck!

I spent a lazy Sunday working on some crafts and then hit the slopes for a few runs before work. I heated some eggplant up for lunch and it was great energy-packed apres-ski fuel. The normally rambunctious kittens spent the day lounging around as well.

Leave a Reply

