Skip to content

Easy Crackers!

December 11, 2011

Happy Holidays here are some crackers.  It was time. The only crackers I have ever made before now are these sourdough ones. Unfortunately, since I moved I have not had a sourdough starter to work with (coming soon…) BUT I knew it had to be possible to make crackers without sourdough! I looked up a few recipes and came up with these…mainly because this is what I had in my pantry..and probably what you have in yours!

Crackers:

1 ¼ cup whole wheat flour

4 Tbsp Olive Oil

1 1/2  Tbsp Honey

6-8 Tbsp water

½ tsp salt

½ tsp pepper

¼ tsp cayenne pepper

Directions:

Mix dry ingredients and add wet.  Mix until it is much like a cookie dough. You might want to add more water than  is called for (in Colorado…I needed about 10 Tbsp). Roll out onto a greased cookie sheet. Spread a little olive oil evenly and add some salt/cayenne pepper to the top of the crackers (if you like). Cut into squares with a pizza cutter and bake at 400F for 15-20 minutes…or until they are starting to brown. They will harden a little as they cool.

Yum! They are super easy and super tasty. The honey/vanilla actually add excellent flavors. These are not sweet crackers but they would be excellent with wine or a spicy cheese (i loveee pepperjack). My only qualm is that I thought the dough was a bit dry..but so is everything here in CO. I can’t complain though…tasty, crunchy, buttery tasting crackers in less than a half hour! Mmmmm!

^the boys!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

