Skip to content

Holiday Treats Part 2 OATMEAL COOKIES!

December 18, 2011

One week until Christmas! Woohoo!!

I can’t believe it. I can’t.

It has been a busy few weeks and it has been hard to realize that the holidays are here. It helps living in a ski-resort town where ever single tree and building is covered in holly and strings of lights. Yep..its great. And I bet it doesn’t come down until the snow melts in the spring. Holidays all year!

Well, earlier in the month I gave you a few recipes for some treats. AND here is another! I must apologize on the lack of posts recently. I had full intentions to make tons (TONS) of cookies for everyone. And then life happened. I might be sending out some New Years cookies for 2012 instead…

Anyways, here is a semi-healthy recipe for very excellent oatmeal cookies!

Oatmeal Cookies:

3/4 cups whole wheat flour

1/4 cup flaxmeal

1/2 cup oats (I used quick cooking)

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 cup canola oil

2/3 cup brown sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup chocolate chips

1 cup raisins (optional…I didnt have any and they were still great!)

Directions:

Mix dry ingredients together and add wet. Stir well, and bake in Tbsp size balls at 350F for 10-12min. A coo thing about these (and oil in lieu of butter) is that you can make it as gifts in a jar..because people can just dump all the ingredients in a bowl and stir! No need to beat the butter/sugar together first. Cool. Super easy, super tasty…kind of healthy? Excellent.

I actually thought they were  a tiny bit too sweet. Possible. Next time I might go with only 1/2 cup or even 1/3 cup sugar. BUT still yummy! They were loved by all at work. MMmmm.

I’ll leave you with some photos of my homemade decorating last week. Woopwoop!

And the boys…because they are the epitome of cuddles and holidays.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

