Skip to content

Curried Eggplant Stew

January 10, 2012

It finally snowed! Snow again-Soup again! We got maybe 5-7 inches on Saturday, so after spending the day hiking, I was ready to cozy up inside with a warm bowl of soup by the fire.  Lots of veggies in this one, AND another chance to test out my Cuisinart Blender/Soup Maker. Excellent!

Earlier in the week I came home from the City Market with an eggplant…no idea. Maybe I was craving more Asian Style Eggplant after running out of Chinese food from New Years…either way, I also had this Curried Eggplant soup recipe hanging in the back of my mind, so I decided to give it a try.

I used this recipe from Eats Well with Others for the soup. A few things I did differently were that I did not add any Almond Milk or honey. After it was simmering away I decided that I wasn’t sure I wanted to add those…as I like the spicy/savory aspect of it and was afraid those two ingredients would cool it down and sweeten it up too much for my taste. Also, I didn’t entirely puree this soup, I left it chunky with a bit of puree to make it thicker. And I used slightly different directions than Eats Well did…both to use less pots/pans if you’re making it on the stove and also because I was converting it for my soup maker.

Curried Eggplant Stew:

1 Medium Eggplant

1-2Tbsp olive oil

1 large onion, chopped

1 tart apple (I used Granny Smith), chopped

15oz  can  of tomatoes, drained

1.5 Tbsp Curry Powder

.5 tsp cayenne pepper

2 Tbsp Soy Sauce

1 can Northern White Beans

4 cups Veg broth.

salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400. Peel and chop eggplant into 1inch thick slices. Rub with Olive Oil and roast until tender..30min or so. (I think next time I will try with the peel on..since its both easier and more nutritious). In a large pot, saute chopped onions, apples for 7-8min. Add spices and  soy sauce. Simmer 2-3 min. Add tomatoes and 1 cup broth. Simmer until eggplant is ready. Chop eggplant into 1inch squares and add to pot along with remaining broth. Add beans and simmer on low for 20-30min. Blend with an immersion blender if you’d like. Enjoy!

Yummm.

I have to say this is a pretty great soup. I topped it with a bit of Parmesan cheese. It did not taste like the curried eggplant I was expecting but it reminded me of a meat stew..almost like a tomato based lamb or beef stew. It is tasty though, no doubt about that!  If you like eggplant and you’re craving some stew, make this. It is both fast and pretty easy! Full of fiber and other great nutrition. :] I also want to mention the great salad I put together at the City Market salad bar…

^mm peppers.

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

