Skip to content

Beets and Sweets!

January 16, 2012

We can thank mostly Martha for this post. I happen to think she is pretty great. Even if it is just her name brand. But whoever the creative people on the team who are behind her website are amazing. I have never made a bad/unsuccessful recipe or attempted a failing craft when following the instructions they lay out, with excellent design, I might add.

I was reading the new Whole Living section of the website the other day and decided to try and make the Roasted Garlic and Beet Soup. I followed it mostly..I couldnt find 3 medium beets, so I used 6 small beets. Then I added a bit more leek..thinking it would balance out the extra beets.  I thought the soup was amazing. Heres the the recipe straight from Martha:

Roasted Garlic and Beet Soup:

3 Medium Beets

1-2 Tbsp Olive oil

6 Cloves Garlic

1 Large Leek, sliced thin

1 tsp fresh Thyme Leaves

1 Bay Leaf

salt and pepper to taste

2 Tbsp lemon juice

Directions:

Heat oven to 400F, drizzle beets with olive oil and roast in parchment or foil for about an hour or until soft. Meanwhile, drizzle a bit of oil on the garlic cloves, wrap in foil and roast for about 30min. Remove beets from oven, let cool, peel (I did not peel them) and slice into small pieces (I partially sliced mine before roasting to cut down some time). Squeeze garlic from skin and set aside. In a large pot, heat Olive oil over medium heat, add leek and cook until soft, 6-8min. Add garlic, beets, spices and 3 cups of water. Bring to boil then reduce heat and simmer 5-10min. Let cool slightly then puree in a blender (or use and immersion blender). Add lemon juice.

Yum!

I also made a salad to go with it. Mainly because I had a pile of beet greens to deal with. I have never eaten/cooked them before so it was kind of an experiment. I chopped up the beet leaves, added a small handful of baby spinach, chopped up 2 avocados and an orange. I tossed that with some Red Wine Vinegar and let it sit for a few minutes.

All in all a REALLY tasty dinner! The soup is refreshing and has excellent flavor. The citrus/avocado in the salad balanced out the slightly bitter greens. Mmm. Plus, the whole meal is seriously healthy!

Also this week, I baked up a batch of Martha’s Chocolate Black Pepper Cookies. I sent a majority of them to Gram and Grampa with their super late Christmas package. However, I did eat quite a few…they are great. I did not roll them in coarse sugar…but I am not sure they really need it. These cookies are a really nice mix of chewy/crunchy cookie with an amazing flavor that gets stronger the longer they sit.  I think next time I might make them and let the flavors mesh in the fridge for a few days…mmmm. The recipe can be found here.

I hope everyone is enjoying the post-season football! I know I am. Go ravens!!!!

Have a great week!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

