Skip to content

Easy Coconut Granola

February 19, 2012

Snow snow snow! Keep on keepin’ on.

The snow coverage is nearing 3+ feet for the past week, and the skiing has been fabulous. This is excellent because President’s week happens to be one of our busiest weeks here in Steamboat, and its looking like it will actually be good skiing for all of our visitors! Me, I am hoping for some serious dumping this week, as I will be slammed with work but plan to hit the slopes hard next week. In fact, lets just keep the snow coming until mid April…thanks!

^excited skiers on top of Thunderhead!

And while the white stuff is flying, the oven has been working just as hard. This weekend, among baking my first ever Kings Cakes (stay tuned for Mardi Gras blog!), I experimented with some more granola. AND its the best one I have ever made, by far. I know, I say that every time I make a new granola, but seriously…this one is good. Also, I have been having some altitude problems with my normal granola recipes (I am not sure if I posted about the almost kitchen fire in my attempt at round two of  Pumpkin Granola a few weeks ago, which never would dry out enough to be crunchy and ended up burning. I am blaming the 7,000 foot altitude difference…). So my goal was to find a successful high altitude granola. This one should also work no problem at sea level, I would think.

^with homemade yogurt! ;]

Coconut Granola:

4 cups oats (I used a mix of quick and old fashioned)

1/2 cup flax meal

1 1/2 cups chopped nuts (I used walnuts and almonds)

1 1/2 cups shaved coconut

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp allspice

1/3 cup canola or olive oil

1/3 cup honey

3Tbsp water

1 cup craisins/raisins

Directions:

Preheat oven to 275F. Mix all dry ingredients, except raisins, together in a large bowl. Heat oil and honey over medium heat until they start to bubble and mix well with the dry ingredients. Add a few Tbsp water if you think it is a bit dry.  Spread granola in a thin layer on two greased cookie sheets or use parchment paper and don’t worry about greasing it. Cook for 1hr, stirring every 15 min or so. It is done when the coconut starts to brown and the oats are beginning to get crunchy. Also, everything will get a bit crunchier as it cools, too. Add craisins in the last 5min if you want (I didn’t use any, but they would be good!).

Mmmmm.  This one is pretty great. I especially like the fact that the coconut adds some sweetness to the mix. Also, the crunch of the toasted coconuts and the walnuts/almonds is excellent. This is a pretty large batch of granola too, which is handy.

I hope everyone enjoys the holiday weekend! I spent most of it watching Season 1 of The Wire, which is my newest addiction. It even makes me miss Baltimore a little…its so good.

These guys spent the weekend snoozing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

