Skip to content

Black Bean Soup..or Pantry Treasures!

March 4, 2012

Happy March!

Its been a busy few weeks here on the mountain and it is only going to get more busy with the influx of spring breakers! Busy is good though, as it finally means work is steady. Which means a little more wiggle room for monies. It also is the second month in my budgeting plan.

After spending January celebrating the New Year (a little too much, maybe) I decided to set my head straight in February and I joined Learnvest.com in order to make myself examine my expenses and maybe start saving some (for my next great travel adventure!?). I did OK last month, I was a pretty thrifty grocery shopper and I went out a lot less…or maybe just spending less when I went out… Anyways, last month, my goal was to start the budget. This month, my goal is to concentrate a bit more on how I can tighten it up without losing all the fun things in life. So it is the time to clean out the freezer and the pantry. Thus, my goal: to hit the grocery store a very minimum amount of times.

I think it is going to be a pretty fun challenge, as I have a pretty random assortment of things in the pantry from people who have visited in the last few months. Also, along with a few friends, I am participating in a weekly potluck series…so I think I’ll be able to get creative there too! I think today’s recipe was an easy one.

I decided to make a black bean soup. Basically, I used most of the canned goods I had and some fresh veggies. I suspect lots of the frozen veggies and canned goods and pastas will end up going into soups this month, but I can’t argue, because it is still pretty chilly and snowy here in the mountains and there is nothing better than a warm soup for lunch!

Pantry Black Bean Soup:

1-2 Tbsp Olive Oil

1 onion

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 jalapeno (optional)

1/2 tsp pepper

1 tsp cumin

1 14oz can fire roasted tomatoes

3 14 oz cans of beans (I used 2 black bean and 1 pinto bean…you could also use a can of corn)

Directions:

Saute onion and garlic in the olive oil over medium heat. When the onion begins to get soft, add spices and chopped jalapeno if using. Cook for another 2-3min. Add tomatoes and then fill the can with water and add that. Drain beans and add. Simmer for 30min. Voila!

YUM! I had it for lunch with Jalapeno Jack cheese and some Stoned Wheat Crackers. Warm and toasty and also tasty. ❤ I have to say, I have enjoyed the recent soup creations I’ve been blogging. Not only are they great for winter, they are a good way to get in lots of veggies. Plus, they are quick to make and dried pasta, beans, canned goods and fresh veggies haven’t been breaking the bank. And I have 3-4 servings of leftovers to make the most of this weeks’ lunches!

I hope you enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

