Skip to content

Sweet Potato and Jalapeno Empanadas!

July 25, 2012

Ok, so the empanadas, as promised! These are spectacular…and I have been tossing them in my lunch almost every day. Yum! They are definitely a little bit of work, but don’t be fooled, it’s easy. AND worth it!

This week, my cousin Sal and her boyfriend Steve are in town. Maybe two of the greatest visitors I’ve had yet! We have been touring Steamboat like crazy doing all sorts of fun things. We hit up the farmers’ market on Saturday during brunch and I discovered that the Pappardelle’s Pasta Co has a booth here! Remember the Habenero Pasta and the Sweet Potato Pasta? Naturally, we bought 8 different kinds of pasta. And along with some other great recipe ideas, plan to cook in a lot! We have also enjoyed lounging a the Old Town Hot Springs and tubing down the Yampa River. Our new favorite phrase- When in doubt, check it out!

So, sorry for the delay, I have been having maybe too much fun. But here is the recipe for the empanadas:

Sweet Potato and Jalapeno Empanadas:

One recipe pie crust (click here)

1 Sweet Potato, boiled or baked

1 jalapeno, de-seeded and chopped

1/2 onion, chopped

cayenne pepper, garlic powder and black pepper to taste

2Tbsp Sriracha (optional)

1/4 cup pepper jack or shredded cheese of your choice

Directions for filling: (Makes 6-8 empanadas) Cook sweet potatos and mash slightly, set aside. Saute the onion in some olive oil in a large pot. Once the onion starts to brown, add sweet potatoes and jalapeno and mash together/cook for 5-10min. Remove from heat and stir in spices and cheese, set aside to cool a bit before making empanadas.

Directions for creating: Preheat oven to 350F and grease a cookie sheet. Divide your dough into 6-8 pieces (I made 6 medium size…if its for hors d’ouvres you can make 8-10 smaller ones even!). Roll each piece into a ball. Using a rolling pin, roll the first ball flat until its maybe 1/16 of an inch thick. Spoon a good amount of filling into the middle, fold over and crimp with a fork. Place on the cookie sheet and repeat until they are all done! Bake for 20-30min or until the crust is looking golden.

I got this recipe from The Feed Zone, which is my favorite new book for some healthy noms. I have to say, I went ahead and doctored this one before I even tried it. Their recipe calls for regular russet potatoes. But I love sweet potatoes! So it happened. They have a ton of recipes for empanadas in this book, as well as rice cakes, smoothies, pastas and energizing salads!

And these are excellent! I froze a few, for later lunches, since I also had the quiche (which travels well, by the way). These are super yummy! And an excellent snack or part of a packed lunch. I have even been eating them for breakfast. And, I was surprised at how easy they actually were to make. Once I already had the pie crust from the quiche (I doubled it when I made it), I just made the filling and tossed it in the fridge so when I was ready to put them together later it only took about 20 min or so.

So if you’re looking for a pretty tasty, pretty healthy snack or lunch box filler, check these out! You’ll impress people, trust me.

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

