Skip to content

White Bean Hummus!

August 11, 2012

Summer work is wrapping up and I am, as ever, excited for some upcoming adventures! I am going on a rafting trip next weekend with my roommate and 19 other people down the Green River in CO. I am stoked not only to go on my first rafting trip, but also that we can still use the rivers this late in the season! We were struggling so bad without rain through most of May and June. But July and August brought a slew of afternoon storms and today looks like it is going to be rainy all day. Thus becoming the first rainy day we have had since I moved here almost a year ago. I’ve missed these lazy rainy days. I think it might be a bread baking day…

The last few weeks have been pretty exciting too! My friend Andrea (gifter of the Ethiopian Bread recipe), finished her summer job and took a mini pit stop through Steamboat on her way back to Cali. We managed to turn a 12 hour spend the night into a 48 hour party and had a blast. Brunch, BBQs and hanging out by the river! Sometimes, you just have to get stuck here for a few days.

And we have a few good friends leaving us this fall for some exciting life adventures.  We celebrated Andrea F. and Trevor’s goodbye with an epic game of kegball. There is no better place to play kegball all afternoon that at the base of a 10,000 foot mountain.

Finally, I managed to find some time to make a hummus dip for my lunches! I am so tired of spending $5 plus on a container of hummus when I can just whip some up for less than $2 in my food processor! I decided to mix it up this time and add some white beans to the mix.

White Bean Hummus:

1 can white beans

1 can chickpeas

1 Tbsp basil

2 cloves garlic

1 tsp pepper

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp paprika

2 Tbsp Tahini (optional)

Directions: Open cans and drain, **reserve the liquid. Pour drained beans and chickpeas into a food processor or blender. Add garlic and a little of the reserved juice. Blend. Add more juice as needed to make a smooth dip. Add spices (feel free to play with these and their quantities) and blend until mixed in. Eat!

Yummy! For some reason, homemade always feels healthier than store bought. I have been dipping carrots and cucumbers in it. But there is always broccoli, snap peas, pita chips, tortilla chips, radishes, or using it as a sandwich spread. I just read a great article in Runners World about the merits of the cucumber: 95% water (apparently we get 20% of our water from food, so this is an excellent veggie!). They also have small amounts of just about every vitamin/mineral and are especially full of fiber and bone strengthening vitamin K. Excellent. Keep on eatin’ on.

And a few photos..

The keg, waiting for the game to start!

Pre-game deliberations.

Andrea, Sophia and I. ❤

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

