Skip to content

Palisade Peach Cobbler!

August 13, 2012

Peaches! All over town. The Palisade peach trade is up and running and boy are they tasty! I have to say as a Georgia girl, it’s hard to get me to enjoy any peach more than one bought on a hot muggy afternoon from a roadside stand in the middle of GA…but these Palisade, CO peaches are huge and if I do say so myself, some of the best!

So when we planned a little BBQ get together at the ranch, the first thing I thought to bring was Peach Cobbler! One of my favorite summer treats. I don’t have my usual go-to recipe here as it is in the collection of boxes of books that got left behind in GA, so I set to work finding a new one. I ended up settling on a Southern Living recipe, which I adapted a bit to make a few more servings. One of the steps in the recipe is to cook the peaches down in the sugar, which I have never done before, so I decided to try it out!

Palisade Peach Cobbler:

1/2 cup butter

5 cups peaches, sliced

1 3/4 cup sugar divided into 1 and 3/4 cups

1 1/2 cups flour

1 1/2 cups milk

1 1/2 Tbsp baking powder

3/4 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon divided in half

1 Tbsp lemon juice

1/2 tsp lemon zest

Directions: Mix flour, 1 cup sugar, salt, baking powder and 1/2 tsp cinnamon, add milk and stir until combined. Set aside. Turn oven to 375F and melt butter in the oven in a 3 quart dish or a 9×13″ pan. Meanwhile, slice peaches and toss with 3/4 cup sugar, lemon juice and zest and 3/4 tsp cinnamon in a large sauce pan over medium heat. Once the sugar is melted and the peaches are warm, turn heat off. Remove melted butter from the oven and pour batter into the dish. Do not stir. Add peaches evenly on top of batter. Do not stir. The crust will rise to cover the peaches. Bake for 40-45 minutes or until the crust is golden. Serve with ice cream.

Super tasty! Dessert was definitely the last straw before food coma set in! Diane and Peggy both made some pre-dinner dips, Peggy whipped up some seriously tasty BBQ Ribs and a home grown salad (entirely from her garden!) and Terri made potato salad. I almost had to go for thirds…yum!

I have to say I liked this cobbler better than some of the recipes I have tried in the past. Possibly, I like it better than my usual recipe..I think the deep dish played a part in it, as it kept some of the crust a bit gooey in the middle (the best!). I also think that cooking the peaches down is worth the extra step. They tasted a bit more cooked and the peaches definitely soaked up a more of the spice flavor of the cinnamon. Definitely a recipe to go back to. Mmmm.

Here are a few photos of the ranch & crew..

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

