Skip to content

Hot Pickled Peppers!

September 24, 2012

When I was visiting home a few weeks ago, I was excited to see all of the gardening Mom did this summer. She has a huge collection of squash, melons, corn, tomatoes, eggplant, cucumbers, peppers and spices. Right before I arrived she adopted a few more pepper plants, saving them from the end-of-summer dump pile at the local garden center. And by the time I left, she still wasn’t sure what she was going to do with all of her colorful peppers.

^Armstrong was doing a good job of keeping all of the sneaky animals away from them though..

And then, a few days ago, she emailed me this recipe for pickled peppers. I suppose they didn’t have quite as many cucumbers as last summer, so she felt skimped on the pickles. Either way, this looked super tasty and I decided to make a batch of my own! So I headed down to the recently opened Natural Grocers and collected a handful of colorful, tasty looking peppers to pickle. Can I also say that I ogled the entire produce section for more than a few minutes and I was excited to spot some amazing looking heirloom tomatoes and other fabulously priced local produce. Hello, new favorite grocery store!

Hot Pickled Peppers:

Vinegar Mix:

3 cups vinegar

1 cup water

1/2 cup sugar

2 Tbsp pickling spice

1 Tbsp pickling salt

Boil the Vinegar Mixture for a few minutes until the sugar is dissolved and the spices are giving off their aroma. (My mom puts the spices in a cheesecloth…I put them right in the vinegar and strain them out before I add it to the jars. Your call)

Peppers:

Any mixture of hot peppers, I used 1.5lbs of Jalapeno, Marisol, Serrano and Banana Peppers. Trim the tops off and slice into rounds. Don’t worry about de-seeding them.

Jarring the Mix:

In the bottom of each jar put:

2 big crushed cloves of garlic (I smash mine with a kitchen knife)

8-10 black pepper corns

Add sliced peppers into each jar until they almost reach the neck. Pour the hot vinegar mixture over the peppers until they are covered. Refrigerate for a few weeks.

Voila!

You can also process these, but I figure we will eat them fast enough that I might as well not worry about it and just put them in the fridge. I ended up with two big pint jars from the amount of peppers that I used. I think Mom might have had a few more peppers and got an extra jar or so out of the recipe. Either way, I am pretty stoked to try these guys! I also made a few jars of Habanero Sauce to go along with them…and everything else I eat.

Here are a few photos I took of Mom’s garden (and her banana trees) while I was home!

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

