Skip to content

Breakfast Tacos and Beautiful Trees.

September 26, 2012

Alright, its about time I shared this recipe for breakfast tacos with y’all. Ever since my adventure in Austin in May, I have been enjoying these almost daily. Thanks to Alden and Scott, I enjoyed them every morning I was in Austin. After a bit of experimenting, I think I almost do them justice.

They are super easy to put together and well worth it. Viva la breakfast!

Breakfast Tacos (for one):

2 corn or flour tortillas

1 egg

salt, pepper, cayenne pepper

2 Tbsp black or refried beans

2-3 Tbsp shredded cheese

chopped onion

1/4 avocado

salsa or picante sauce

jalapenos

sour cream

hot sauce

Directions: Beat egg with a little bit of milk or water, salt, pepper, cayenne and scramble with beans until cooked. Meanwhile, heat tortillas on the plate in the microwave (20secs) or oven (250 for a few minutes). Divide egg/beans between tortillas and top with cheese, onion, avacado, salsa, sour cream, and hot sauce if you’d like. Enjoy!

Best.breakfast.ever. Or lunch. Or dinner. AND they are easy to put together in five or so minutes if you’ve got everything on hand. I make these babies enough that I chop an onion and open a can of beans in the beginning of the week and just keep them in tupperware in the fridge. It makes it a whole lot easier to have everything ready to go. And I don’t always have all of the toppings. Also, I sometimes saute some spinach with the eggs in lieu of beans. So feel free to experiment with your own and double, triple or even quadruple the recipe as you need!

I hope you enjoy some of the great colors our trees have been putting out recently! Breakfast tacos are an excellent pre-hike energy source…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

