Skip to content

Cheesy Jalapeno Cornbread and “The Paw of Death”

October 16, 2012

Well, it has been an excellent fall season and *fingers crossed* we are steadily sliding into a great winter! This past weekend, we got snow on top of the mountain two days in a row!  Awesome. Of course, its still pretty nice out during the middle of the day, so I have been taking advantage of it. Sunday and Monday I managed to get out on some hikes! Sunday, I went up Emerald Mountain with some friends.  We stopped at the top of the quarry to enjoy some sandwiches and  the spectacular view of Steamboat. Monday, Lindsay and I met for coffee and then headed out on the Spring Creek Trail. I will have to get out there more before the snow comes. Or maybe I’ll just have to get out the snowshoes…

Anyways, I am about to head EAST! On an epic adventure to visit all of my friends in NYC, BMore and DC. I cannot wait! In the meantime, I am trying to use up pantry items as a last ditch effort to save monies. This morning, I whipped up some Cheesy Jalapeno Cornbread (the go with some pantry soup!).

I found the recipe at Knead to Cook’s blog and played with it a little bit. Mainly because I wanted to use some Paw of Death that Mom sent me-basically, dried red peppers from her garden…so feel free to substitute. I also had some cheese to use up (and when is cheese a bad idea?) and a bit more corn than the recipe called for, because I had about half a can of left overs from a casserole I made the other night.

Cheesy Jalapeno Cornbread:

1 cup flour (I used half AP and half WW)

1 cup cornmeal

1/3 cup sugar

3 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1 tsp Paw of Death (or red pepper flakes)

1/4 cup canola oil

1 cup milk

1 egg

1/2 cup cooked corn (I used canned)

1/2 cup shredded cheese (I used a Mexican blend)

1 jalapeno, finely diced

Directions: Preheat oven to 425F. Measure out flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder, salt and red peppers into a bowl. Stir with a fork to incorporate and break up the flour. Add egg, milk and oil. Stir until combined. Fold in cheese and eggs. Spoon batter into a 9×9 pan or two loaf pans. Top with diced jalapeno. Bake for 20 minutes.

*Feel free to leave out the red pepper and the jalapeno if you aren’t a spicy fan.

Yum! An excellent, spicy cornbread! Always a favorite on a chilly fall night with some warm soup. I made it in two loaves so I could freeze one for later. Also, I didn’t really adjust it for altitude and it worked fine.

Paw of Death! Starring Armstrong, Mom’s adorable but slightly feral house cat.

And some hiking photos!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 17, 2012 11:43 am

    I love the name of the peppers your mom sent you. And she added a label!

Leave a Reply

