Skip to content

Halloween Roasted Pumpkin Seeds!

October 31, 2012

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!

I hope everyone has a wonderful and spooky day! Here in Steamboat our celebrations started this past Saturday. Everyone donned their costumes and hit the town for an excellent night of celebrations. It was awesome. Also, I’ve just started a new job at a preschool and we have been painting pumpkins, carving pumpkins and making masks for the last couple of days! And now it is finally here. The pumpkins are carved and the candy is ready.

Amber and I carved our pumpkins last night…I thought they turned out pretty cool!

Percy and Pierce.

I saved some of the insides to make a pumpkin puree and this morning I whipped up a quick loaf of pumpkin bread. Recipe to come!

And, if you’re interested in making your own Pumpkin Puree:

You can either buy a sugar pumpkin, which is what typically comes in pumpkin puree cans and is a little sweeter than a carving pumpkin. OR you can use the large chunks you carve out and a little of the inside walls of the pumpkin, cut off the skin and roast in the oven along with your pumpkin seeds (275 for 45min or until soft). You can also steam it in the microwave. Once it is cooked, use a blender or food processor to puree it. Don’t skimp on this part, as mashing it with a fork won’t let it blend properly into anything you cook with it. I didn’t get a lot from my carvings, but definitely enough for bread or cookies.

Also, I wanted to share my recipe for pumpkin seed roasting.

Spicy Roasted Pumpkin Seeds:

Preheat oven to 275F. Separate the seeds from the pulp and rinse in a colander. Pat dry and place on a foil-lined baking sheet. Drizzle with 3-4 Tbsp of olive oil. Sprinkle some cayenne pepper and lots of salt on top. Mix them around until they are all well coated with spices and oil and put in the oven for 40-50 minutes or until dry and crispy. I like to take them out halfway through baking and stir them up so they roast more evenly and don’t get stuck to the foil. Let them cool before storing in airtight container.

I thought I’d experiment this time and make some Wasabi Pumpkin Seeds. So I also sprinkled some Wasabi powder on about a third of them and baked them just the same. YUM!

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

