Skip to content

Leftover Turkey Soup!

January 4, 2013

Happy 2013~! I hope everyone’s holiday was amazing. Full of fun times, good cheer, friends and family. I currently have a few friends staying at my place and so I decided to use the rest of my smoked turkey (gifted to me by the City of Steamboat Springs! mmmmm) to make a hugeeee pot of soup! We have been enjoying it for lunch and dinner for a few days.

So if you have a bunch of the bird left over from dinner and you’ve run out of the best part (ie. mashed potatos, sweet potatos, stuffing and gravy) it is time to re-purpose the turkey for a better cause. …SOUP!IMG_7280

Leftover Turkey Soup:

10 cups turkey stock

3 cups chopped turkey

5 large carrots

2 zucchini

5 stalks celery

4-5 small red potatos

1 tsp parsley

1 tsp basil

1 tsp pepper

1/2 tsp crushed red pepper

Directions: Chop veggies and turkey, toss into a crockpot and leave on low for 5-8 hours. Voila!

So yummy. And so nice and easy! Its a great break from turkey and turkey sandwiches and turkey and turkey and…well, you get it. I made the stock by using all of the turkey bones and  few stalks of celery and water water. I actually made two batches and divided the bones in half. I put them in the crock pot with some celery, filled it to the brim with water, and left it on low for 8-10 hours. I did that twice, froze the first batch and used the second for my soup!

Super yummy. Also, nice and warm on a cold day…and we have had lots of those recently!

Here are some photos of my morning hike on New Year’s Eve. I recently got a set of skins for my skis, so I put them on and hiked up the mountain before the sun was up to get some solo groomer runs before heading into work! IMG_20121230_075804 20121230_071128

Also, a great New Year’s Eve sunset!20121231_164617

Happy New Year!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

