Skip to content

Paleo Pumpkin Banana Bread!

January 25, 2013

The last few weeks have been a whirlwind. From hut trips to marathons and a constant battle with various ailments, I am finally getting things under control. I spent the end of December and the early part of January in denial about a gross cough I had which turned out to be bronchitis. Despite the cough, I went on a four day hut trip in the 10th mountain division for my friend Jeanne’s birthday. We had a  blast…except when my friends wanted to throw me off the mountain for my coughing! Upon our return, I procured some antibiotics and the cough was gone (like magic!) almost over night. And then I woke up with what felt like a bruised rib. The worst. With my marathon a week away, I took it easy and it started to heal. By the time I was carbo loading for the race, it was just a dull ache. (Yay!)

Then, I flew back to ATL and Mom and I drove to Charleston for the marathon. It was an awesome race! I finished sub four and the weather was amazing. It was all pretty exciting until I couldn’t walk an hour after the finish… So now, with my recently diagnosed torn psoas muscles, I am crutching around the condo and healing slowly. And while I am taking it easy, my roommate and I decided to spend the next few weeks “getting healthy.”

IMG_7751

For me, this means stop eating so much processed food. With the holidays and work starting back for the winter, I feel like I have been eating treats galore and drinking and just being generally careless about what I am putting in my body. So for the next few weeks, we have decided to go pseudo paleo, pseudo gluten and sugar free. Mainly, I want to go back to making my own bread and crackers and baked goods and reduce the amount of 800 ingredient snacks, crackers, bread etc I eat. Why have 800 weird chemicals when you can make the same thing with four ingredients? Having spent the last few months in a roller coaster of stomach bugs, colds and coughs…I am experimenting with a few weeks of gluten free to see what happens. So for us it is LOTS of veggies, meat and fruit. And of course, some paleo pumpkin bread because sometimes you need a treat. (Lets pretend Taylor didnt bring gluten, dairy, egg and soy free brownies over last night. Those don’t have sugar..right?).

This morning, I experimented with a pumpkin/banana bread. It turned out pretty good, though I think next time I’ll use maple syrup as the sweetener and put another Tbsp or so in there.IMG_7780

Paleo Pumpkin Banana Bread:

1 cup almond meal

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp cloves

1/2 tsp allspice

1/2 cup pumpkin

2 ripe bananas, mashed

1 egg OR 1 tsp flax seed/Tbsp water

2 Tbsp honey

Directions: Preheat oven to 350F. Grease a loaf pan or  a 6 muffin tin. Mix dry ingredients in a medium bowl. Add wet and stir until fully mixed. Transfer to pan and bake for 40-50minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.IMG_7777

Yummy! I have never cooked with almond meal before and it adds a nice nutty flavor to the bread. I couldnt wait for it to cool, so I took a warm slice right out of the oven and put some honey on it. So good.

Meanwhile, I have spent the last few days drawing drawing drawing. The boys have been sleeping sleeping sleeping (and playing hide and seek. I am ready to go outside!!!wpid-img_20130123_121626 IMG_7782

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

