Skip to content

Eggplant and Lamb Tomato Sauce with Spaghetti Squash

January 31, 2013

It has been DUMPING here in Steamboat! I am still not fully walking, so I have been ogling it from my window. We had about 14″ just last night, and the trees are piled with snow. Of course, I cannot wait to get back out on my skis!IMG_7800 IMG_7801

This past week, eggplant was on sale at City Market for $1 each! D and I decided to buy some and see what we could do with it. I usually make a spicy Asian eggplant (mmmm), but Mom sent me a recipe a few months ago that involved lamb and eggplant in a sort of lasagna style dish. So I decided to re-make that recipe into more of a tomato sauce for spaghetti squash. Mmmm. We managed to find some relatively local lamb at the City Market too!IMG_7794

Eggplant and Lamb Sauce:

2 Tbsp olive oil

1 large onion, chopped

1 large eggplant, chopped (I leave the peel on)

1 lbs ground lamb

5 tomatoes, chopped (or a 22ox can of chopped tomatoes)

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp salt

pepper

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp basil

Directions: Heat olive oil in a large pot over medium heat. Add onions and cook until the soften. Add tomatoes, eggplant and spices and cook until it is simmering. Add lamb, stirring until the lamb is brown. Turn to low, cover and simmer for 10minutes. Serve over pasta or squash!

Spaghetti Squash:

Quarter squash and place in a shallow pan core side down with a bit of water. Microwave for 7-10minutes or until soft enough to remove core from skin. If you want to bake it, do the same prep but cook at 350 for 35-40 minutes.IMG_7784

Yum! D and I ate on this for a few days, I would say it served 5-6. Also, I always forget how much I absolutely LOVE lamb. The eggplant does a good job of soaking up the flavors and adding a little texture to the sauce and it goes fabulously with the meat and tomatoes. Of course, spaghetti quash is super scrumptious anytime! I sometimes just make spaghetti squash and put some parm or even brown sugar on it. Mmmm!

Jax isn’t sure if he likes all of this snow…IMG_7796Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

