Skip to content

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Bars!

February 22, 2013

Well, its not yet spring but it has been warming up quite a bit here in Steamboat! The last few weeks have been pretty busy with Vday, Mardi Gras and Presidents day. Wow. So the mountain has been packed. Rock concert packed. I am not going to lie, I am looking forward to spring time. Warm weather and fun times ahead!

And as usual, I have been spurred by our busy-ness to make treats…all the time. Along with some blondies that I created last week for VDay, I made my traditional Kings Cake for Mardi Gras and my new favorite kind of cake ball (recipe to come) for a special mid-week treat this week! Of course, they didn’t last long enough to snag a photo of, so instead, I am posted my newest creation…IMG_7830

PB Chocolate Chip Bars:

1 1/2 cups flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup butter, room temp

3/4 cup dark brown sugar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 cup creamy PB

1 egg, beaten

1 tsp vanilla

1 bag semi sweet chocolate chips

Directions: Preheat oven to 350F and grease a 9×13″ pan. In a small bowl, mix flour baking soda and salt. In large bowl, cream butter, sugars and egg together. Add PB and vanilla and stir until smooth. Add flour in two parts and stir until it is all incorporated. Fold in chocolate chips. Press dough evenly into greased pan and bake for 18-20minutes or until the edges are golden. Let cool and serve!

Yummm! Chewycrunch…that is all I have to say. Perfect. I decided to take the liberty of editing a pretty standard recipe and adding twice the PB…best idea ever. I took these to a girls clothes-swap that my friend Larraine threw. Everyone made some tasty desserts and we had a blast swapping clothes and hanging out with a few glasses of wine. Plus, we didn’t spend any money and we all ended up with new clothes!

IMG_20130131_142559

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

