Skip to content

Bahamian Leftover Stir Fry

May 16, 2013

Wow it has been months. My goal this summer is to get back on track cooking and blogging and generally get back to normalness. I don’t even know what happened except..its life. But I am back! In a few weeks I am moving out to a ranch and planning to spend more time cooking, in between all my working (stand by for lunch box snacks!). I also intend to procure a grill. I already have some recipes stored away. Bring it, summer!

Anyways, last week I was with my parents in the Bahamas. We enjoyed a few great days in the sun and some excellent dinners. Steaks, Mahi, Salmon, you name it. The last night, we had a myriad of leftovers and weren’t sure what to do, so we came up with this! While this dish isn’t Bahamian, it is something that Mom and I came up with in the Bahamas (practically the same thing, right?)! Super tasty. I think you could use almost anything to make a yummy stir fry. Almost.

IMG_8777

Leftover Stir Fry:

1 Tbps olive oil

Four stalks celery, chopped

1 cup chopped carrots

1 onion, chopped

1-2 cooked steaks, sliced into this strips

1 clove garlic, minced

1 tsp basil

1 tsp red pepper flakes

1/4 cup soy sauce

Rice for serving (we used leftover Saffron rice and it was excellent)

Directions: Heat olive oil in a large pan over medium. Add veggies and spices, cover and cook for ten-fifteen minutes, stirring occasionally. Add steak and soy sauce. Turn to low, recover and cook for five more minutes. Stir and serve over rice!

Enjoyed by all. I topped mine with a liberal amount of wasabi sauce. YUM. We also had some Texas toast that we whipped out for a garnish. Classy, I know.

IMG_8772 IMG_8764 IMG_8722 IMG_8624

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

