Skip to content

Rhubarb Party Round One: Compote!

June 14, 2013

Somehow, on Monday, I managed to get up and start cooking before my roommate even poached his eggs. So then, after an excellent breakfast and some fun times watching SNL skits, talking about Northern England rave culture, skiing in Chamonix: I had a pie in the oven and some compote on the stove!

This weekend, Peggy gave me some fresh asparagus an armload of rhubarb from her garden. The asparagus is good enough to eat raw, and I have been dipping it into hummus..or just eating. Mmm! I was most excited about the giant green rhubarb (its not the red kind) stalks that she cut for me. I planned to make a pie for sure, but I wanted to do a little experimenting with the rest of it. So I decided to use a few strawberries, some fresh garden basil and rhubarb to make a compote. I also added some brown sugar to the mix to keep it interesting.IMG_8889

Strawberry, Rhubarb and Basil Compote:

1 lbs rhubarb, chopped into 1/2″ pieces

1/2 lbs strawberries, chopped in half (they break down as it cooks)

2 Tbsp water

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup fresh chopped basil

Directions: Set a large pot over medium high head and add water, rhubarb and strawberries. Once they start to heat up, toss in the sugars and basil. Boil for a few moments and then turn heat to low. Simmer for 20-30 minutes, stirring occasionally. The fruit will break down and the mixture should thicken a bit…it will thicken more in the fridge.

Yum! Basil was a good idea. Our gas stove doesn’t go very low, so I stirred it a lot to keep it from burning to the bottom of the pan, but it turned out excellent I think! I put it on an english muffin type thing called a “breakfast round” that I get from Natural Grocers….but now we just need some vanilla ice cream…?IMG_8890

And the pie. YUM. standby.

Also..Baby birds! They have been driving Evinrude CRAZY.IMG_8900

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

