Skip to content

Rhubarb Party Round Two: Pie!

June 16, 2013

Mmmm! Pie. As I said, Peggy gave me a lot of rhubarb. I love this because I had plenty left after the compote to whip up a pie! I happened to have a pie crust in the freezer but it was a bit dried out. So I defrosted it, mixed in a little more flour and water, kneaded it and rolled it out into a brand new crust. Success! Pie crust revival we called it. Maybe its just because we live in what used to be a church, the pie spirits were definitely on our side. They were also on our side, it appears, during the pie making itself. Yum!IMG_8878

Rhubarb Crumble Pie:

Filling:

1 lbs rhubarb, chopped

2/3 cup sugar

2 tsp cinnamon

2 Tbsp flour

One pie crust

Crumble Topping:

1/4 cup butter, very soft or melted

1 cup flour

1/3 cup oats

1/2 cup brown sugar

Directions: Chop the rhubarb into small 1/4″ or 1/2″ pieces and stir into a mixing bowl with flour, sugar and cinnamon. Set aside for ten minutes or so while you prepare the crust and the topping. Preheat the oven to 450F. Mix all ingredients for the crumble topping in a small bowl. It should be like crumbly cookie dough. If it isn’t add a little more flour and sugar. Pour rhubarb, and any juices in the bottom of the bowl, into the prepare pie crust and top evenly with crumble. Place in the oven at 450F for 10 minutes, then reduce the heat to 350F for another 50min to an hour. Voila!IMG_8881

The pie cooling on our old stove in the foyer!

I had trouble knowing when it was done…so I just let it stay in the oven at 350 and made sure it didn’t burn. I also put a cookie sheet under it for spills, because it did bubble over a bit. Nothing wrong with a great summer pie fresh from the garden!

Our garden here at 345 8th seems to be doing well. We have lots of zucchini flowers and a few squash blossoms AND our pumpkin seeds have just poked up through the soil! I think I will get some set spray for the tomatoes, as our bees seem nonexistent. BUT the wildflower seeds we planted just started to come up, so maybe they will grow fast and the bees will come! The spices (rosemary, basil, parsley and mint) are flourishing in their pots. And I am composting again since I retained partial custody of the compost bins I share with the Cellar Ladies. Plus, Peggy and I have a zucchini trade planned. I give her zucchini, she gives me…asparagus, rhubarb and maybe later in the season some potatoes! Winning.

IMG_8901Chairs and table ($12 at the landfill)!IMG_8872IMG_8886 IMG_8885Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

