Skip to content

Homegrown Tomato Pie!

September 10, 2013

Hello! It has been quite a while! Life has been busy as usual, also fun, amazing and maybe the best ever. I have spent the last few months in Steamboat hiking, biking and hanging out with various amazing people doing various amazing things. And then Alden, Mom, Scott and Dad came to visit for Labor day, which was super fun! We managed to hike around Fishcreek Falls, up to Thunderhead, soak in the springs, and even visit Sunpies for an afternoon of by-the-river-brews. Awesome. Plus, my art show at the Red Contemporary Gallery opened that Friday, so it was cool they were in town!

When they left, I was a little homesick, so I decided to whip up one of my favorite down-south summer recipes. Tomato Pie. For some reason, I decided to try a new recipe, rather than my go-to…but it was pretty good! Made better, I think, because I actually grew all the tomatoes. Yayyy! IMG_9158

Tomato Pie II

Cornmeal Crust

1 cup flour (I used WW, you can use AP)

2/4 cup yellow cornmeal

¾ tsp salt

1 stick cold butter cubed

¼ cup shredded cheese

5 Tbsp ice water

Directions: Preheat oven to 350F. In a bowl, cut butter with flour and cornmeal, until fine and crumbly. Add cheese and water and mix (I use my hands) until it forms a dough. Press into greased pie pan and bake for 15min until golden brown.

Filling:

½ large onion, chopped

2 Tbsp olive oil

8 medium tomatoes, sliced

½ cup shredded swiss cheese

½ cup shredded cheddar cheese

¾ cup mayo

1Tbsp fresh parsley

1 tsp pepper

Directions: (While crust pre-bakes) Chop tomatoes and lay out on paper towels to drain. Meanwhile, cook onions with olive oil over medium heat until they caramelize and then set them aside. Ina  small bowl, mix cheese, mayo and spices. When the crust is ready, layer tomatoes in the bottom, top with onions and then with cheese mixture. Raise oven to 375F and bake for 15-20min until cheese bubbles.IMG_9161

I think the biggest difference was the cornmeal crust rather than the usual pie crust. BUT it was yummy! I like the cheesiness. I also think the crust could use some more cheese…can you go wrong with cheese? Didn’t think so. IMG_9147 IMG_9150 IMG_9156

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

