Skip to content

Pumpkin Carving and Pesto!

October 24, 2013

October is nearly over and that means: Halloween!!!! It also means the later end of 2013 is here and its time to review the resolutions. So far, I have given it a good go on everything but the budgeted lifestyle. The easiest cure for that would be traveling less…but that sounds so contradictory to my resolution to travel! Oh well. I have made a significant budget leap this month as I have been trying to make pantry creations as much as possible, which leads me to: pesto!IMG_9437

I decided to use some of my fresh basil to make a pesto since I found a meager two-ish servings of spinach linguini in the pantry. I also found half a bag of frozen broccoli. So I mixed up the pesto (recipe below), cooked the noodles and the broccoli and then I tossed all of that with some pesto. Topped it with a sprinkle of Parmesan cheese and it was delish! IMG_9439

Pesto:

1/3 cup olive oil

½ cup pecans

¼ cup Parmesan cheese

1 cup spinach

5-6 leaves fresh basil

Directions: Blend everything together in a food processor and serve!

YUMM! I love pesto…and this made enough for a few meals, it was easy and it was comparably cheaper than buying store made pesto. Standby for my mothers famous pesto-raisin chicken!IMG_9432

In other news, I invited Megan and Peggy over last night for some chili, cornbread, margaritas and pumpkin carving! It was a glorious night. Peggy and I decided to stick with the dog theme for ours… IMG_9455

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

