Skip to content

New Years Turkey Soup!

January 18, 2014

Happy 2014! I’m a LITTLE late posting, but at least I’m getting it in. For New Years, I made the traditional southern collard green, blackeyeds and cornbread and had that with a giant smoked turkey. Traditionally, its ham at the new year, but the City of Steamboat graciously delivered a 9lbs smoked turkey to me in thanks for my service with Parks and Rec this past year. So, I used Mr Turkey instead of le ham.

Anyways, I won’t post the fixins, because I have posted them in the past (see here.) BUT, after a few days of eating turkey, turkey got old. SO, I chopped it up and made a soup. The stock I used for the soup was some the Thanksgiving chicken we had. I used the turkey bones and some veggies to make another TWENTY TWO cups of stock which will soon be reappearing here in more than one recipe. Lobster Bisque, anyone?IMG_0384

Turkey Soup:

10 cups stock (I used chicken)

4 cups cooked, chopped turkey

2 zucchini, halved and  sliced

3 roma tomatoes, chopped (I left the skin on)

2 medium potatoes, chopped (I left the skin on these as well)

one small bunch kale

1/2 tsp crushed red pepper

1 tsp rosemary

salt and pepper to taste

1/2 cup uncooked brown rice

Directions: Combine all ingredients but rice in a crock pot and cook on low for 6-8 hours. Add rice in the last 1/2 hour.

Voila! I love soups…and their easy variations. Basically, veggies, protein, some starch or grain and a good stock. Winner. Feel free to mix it up as you’d like! I decided to go with current veggie drawer options only for this soup…but carrots and onions would be a good addition. Or pasta instead of rice. New Year, New SOup!

Meanwhile, while the rest of the country is in polar vortex, we are getting dumped on. Snowwwwww. I swear we’ve gotten two feet in the last day. So nice.IMG_20131231_081621 IMG_20140101_164424 IMG_20140106_195454 IMG_20140109_202513

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

