Skip to content

Economy Lentil and Ham Soup!

January 29, 2014

Hello! Another January post, yep! In efforts to save mula, we went “economy style” on this soup, but you’d never know with the flavor! Super yummy. Surprisingly yummy, I’d say! Sooo give it a try. Next month I am taking on the non-processed food challenge. Where I plan to make or be able to name all of the ingredients in anything I consume. Stand-by for updates on that!

And now for the yummys.

IMG_0420

Lentil and Ham Soup Economy Style:

1 cup cooked ham, chopped into 1/2 inch squares

1 cup dry lentils

1 medium red onion, chopped

5 cups water

1 Tbsp Curry Powder (I used vindaloo style)

Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions: Toss everything in the crock pot on low for 6-8 hours. Enjoy! I served mine topped with feta cheese crumbles. Extra tasty.IMG_0425 I also made some biscuits to go along with it! Excellent choice. I used the Pioneer Baking Mix that is like Bisquick here in CO. Its easy and makes fluffy biscuits! Next month, during no-process Feb, Ill be making my own…booo.

In other news, while the rest of the country is under storm warnings and abnormally frozen temps, we had a mild storm last night and yesterday and are dipping well into the negatives at night, but nothing is holding us back! I feel for all of you who are getting “snowed in” for a threat of snow. I did that for a good portion of my life…its great to brave the multiple inch snow fall now though. Especially since we get to ski it!IMG_0416

Enjoy the coziness while you can!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

