Skip to content

Brown Sugar Apple Pie!

May 1, 2014

The past week we house-sat for the neighbors. It was wonderful. Especially considering we live above the dog kennel and it was the week we had 74 dogs. Whew! Anyways, they left a lot of apples and pears in their fruit basket and by the time I got around to wanting to eat them, the apples were a little wrinkly and not too good for eating. SO I asked Peggy for an apple pie recipe and she hooked me up with her grandmothers. 20140425_143901 It was amazing. I think also, the first time I feel like my crust and filling were both successful! This one is topped with a crumble, so you just need ½ a pie crust recipe. 20140423_131033

Whole Wheat Brown Sugar Apple Pie:
1 9” pie crust (just for the bottom of the dish)
(I used THIS ONE)
Filling:
6 tart apples, peeled, cored and sliced thin
½ cup sugar or ¼ cup maple syrup
1 tsp lemon juice
½ tsp nutmeg
1 Tbsp butter
Crumble:
1/3 cup butter
¾ cup brown sugar
¾ cup sifted flour (I used WW)

Directions: Preheat oven to 425F. Roll out crust and place into buttered pie dish. Layer apples and drizzle with lemon juice and ¼ cup maple syrup (or the sugar) and nutmeg and dot with the butter. Make the crumble topping by mixing melted butter, flour and sugar together and crumbling it over the apples with your fingers. Place pie in oven for 15 min and then lower the temp to 350 for another 30 min or until the crust is golden and the apples are a little bubbly! My times were slightly different than the original recipe due to altitude adjustments.

If you can resist, wait until it cools to serve! 20140423_131029 The only thing I changed was that I used whole wheat flour, which turned out fantastic! I will be making more of these as apple season come around!!! Maybe when I make more I can actually get a decent photo of the sliced pie. I took this one to work at the kennel and we devoured it before I could really document.

ALSO check out our new lamb! One-Eyed Jack! (And his larger sheep friends, below). IMG_112710155088_1485643421659549_1514762016_n

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

