Skip to content

Salmon Baked in Tomato Cream Sauce!

May 1, 2014

Spring is here, sort of! The last few weeks of glorious sun shine and shorts weather has turned back into windy snowy weather, for which we are only grateful because the wet stuff will help to make all the land green once the sun comes back out. BUT I could seriously do without it. I mean, I really was enjoying my shorts (even if they were due to vacation down in the desert!).

 

 

 

 

Anyways, I have been pretty busy with some kitchen experiments and LOTS of bread making. I got a thrift store bread machine for $4.00 and I have since been using it 2-3 times a week. Mostly, for sourdough whole wheat sandwich bread, but a few different loaves have come out of there as well. In addition to the bread maker bread making, I have been making some long-rise, no knead sourdough loaves. Stand by for posts on those! Also, posts and updates to come on my Kombucha (first batch success!) and ginger bug (which will hopefully become soda but has yet to ferment).10300120_1495319810691910_5488300594850208688_n
Kombucha

All of these recipes will come, but for now, I will leave you with a hearty, cold-weather bone-sticking meal. Salmon bake with creamy tomato sauce.
IMG_1151
Baked Salmon in Cream:

Salmon filet for 2-3 people

1 cup cream or 2/3 cup milk and 1/3 cup sour cream

¼ cup tomato paste

1 Tbsp dill

2 Bay Leaves

1tsp Thyme

salt and pepper

Directions: Preheat oven to 425F. Rinse salmon, pat dry and place in the bottom of a baking pan (I used a 3qt dish). In a small bowl, whisk cream (or milk and sourcream) and tomato paste until blended. Pour mixture over the salmon. It should fill the pan about 1” and surroung the salmon. Top salmon with spices, and place in over for 15-20min until it flakes with a fork.IMG_1131

 

Yum! I think I will try it next with some homemade pasta. I modified the recipe from the Nourished Kitchen cookbook which just uses heavy cream. I figure tomato sauce couldn’t hurt and I needed to use it up. I served it with sautéed spinach and onions and mashed sweet potatoes.

 

Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

